Monday, January 31, 2011

Renee Field, Beastly Passion

Title: Beastly Passion

Author: Renee Field

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Fantasy

Sub-Genre: Romance

Keywords: Ménage, Shape-Shifter, Dragon, M/M/F

Length: Novella

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419930195

Price: $4.45

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9004-beastly-passion.aspx

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:

Maeja, queen of the Dragonian race, believes in words like duty, control and honor. She will do anything to keep her subjects safe from spying Earth technology. Her captain-at-arms knows now is the time to teach Maeja her beastly passion is not a curse. With her world on the brink of disaster, she must overcome her inhibitions and let lust control her. Taking two dragon warrior men as lovers might be too much change, but more than just her body is undergoing a cataclysmic transformation. Where dragons rule, passion follows.

Review:

Beastly Passion is a thoroughly imaginative and creative story. The cover also reflects this. Renee Field created a wonderful world to get lost in for a while.

Between Maeja, the queen, and her two Dragonbane Warriors, Geirsson and Valdason, the passion was scorching hot. Maeja is a strong and confident female and leader. Maeja’s journey to surrender to her desires and finally be free was a fun read.

As a reader, you learn just enough about Geirsson and Valdason to make you hopeful that they will stay with their queen. The main focus of the story is really on Maeja and what she will do and sacrifice for her people.

Beastly Passion is a well written story that will spark your imagination. The ending was a surprise with a wonderful twist. There is definitely some exploration left to do in this world and I would love to journey with some other characters.

Nina Pierce, Maid for Master

Title: Maid for Master

Author: Nina Pierce

Rating: Four And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: BDSM

Keywords: Voyeurism, Bondage, Spanking

Length: Novella

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419932557

Price: $4.45

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9001-maid-for-master.aspx

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:

Treat herself to a carnal weekend at the hedonistic retreat, XTC Resorts? That’s not something Claire Calderwood, a three-time loser in the relationship department, would ordinarily do. But at forty-one, having a successful cleaning business is no longer enough. She wants a chance to let go of all responsibility, submit to a stranger’s sexual demands and satisfy her darkest fantasies.

Jonathon Brierton has known his best friend’s sister long enough to recognize her submissive nature. He would like nothing more than to have Claire bound naked and at the mercy of his flogger as he teaches her the sensual art of obeying her Master. At thirty-something, he’s a successful real estate developer, owner of a BDSM resort—and hopelessly in love with the older woman.

When Claire follows him to his resort, Jonathon is certain he can keep his identity secret long enough to convince her that being restrained in his stocks is something that will satisfy them both. But lies, deceit and broken hearts may not be so easy to overcome.

Review:

The cover itself drew me in. It’s very erotic and beautiful; capturing the imagination. Maid for Master sucks you in at the beginning and doesn’t spit you out until the end. The back and forth interactions between Jon and Claire will have you on the edge of your seat.

The trust and issues that Clair has to work towards and work out, respectively, is captivating as you learn more about her. Jon helps Claire come to terms with what she wants and needs to finally be truly happy.

The erotic BDSM sex scenes are hot and steamy. The connection between Jon and Claire will have you flying through the pages. I devoured this story and just want more of the characters that Nina Pierce has created in Maid for Master. Perhaps Master Ethan will show up later!

Sharon A. Donovan, Charade of Hearts

Title: Charade of Hearts

Author: Sharon A. Donovan

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Keywords: Crimson Rosebud, Sweet

Page Count: 122

ISBN E-Book: d5315

Price: $4.00

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=137&products_id=4346

Reviewer: Mona

Blurb/Summary:

Jewel of the Night Series

While scuba diving off the coast of Diamond Head with her diving partner on a quest to find a family heirloom, underwater photographer Dominique St. John witnesses his brutal murder and photographs it, ensnaring her in a deadly jewel ring. Then when the investigating officer turns out to be her partner’s identical twin, a man she knew nothing about, her life becomes a Charade of Hearts.

Welcome to the world of greed, intrigue, deception and murder. At its core is a blue diamond worth millions.

As honest as his twin was corrupt, Honolulu Homicide Detective Oliver Carvalho must convince Dominique that her diving partner and best friend was a crook. In a race against time, Oliver must rescue her from a ruthless killer, but his biggest challenge proves to be Dominique herself. Her heart has been torn by betrayal and can only be redeemed with love.

Review:

Who would think that a gorgeous man can leave you feeling so happy one minute and so cold the next? Then you turn around and a man with the very same exact face can leave you hot and begging for more. This is what Dominique discovers when she meets Oliver, her best friend Roberto's twin Brother. But the mystery gets complicated when Roberto is murdered before her very eyes.

Charade of Hearts is an intriguing tale of tragic mystery in Paradise. I found it to have just the right mixture of mystery, suspense and the sweet discovery of a love unexpected. A well written story of greed, murder, mystery and love. This author has a unique way of keeping the reader on the edge of their seats waiting to see what happens next!

Cheryl Dragon, Catcalling Catherine

Title: Catcalling Catherine

Author: Cheryl Dragon

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Erotic Fiction

Keywords: Ménage, M/M/F

Length: Quickie

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419929892

Price: $2.49

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-8733-catcalling-catherine.aspx

Reviewer: Mona

Blurb/Summary:

Call it a compliment. Call it offensive. The whistles and shouts of hot, young construction workers have become Catherine’s latest sexual obsession. To protect her professional reputation, Catherine uses a service to fulfill her blue-collar fantasy and the two men hired for the job, complete with hard hats and hard-ons, do it just right. Problem solved—or so she thought.

One fantasy isn’t enough for Tony. Catherine failed to recognize him as part of the crew who remodeled her office. After the best sex of his life, he wants more—their combined fantasies with no services, no secrets. Anywhere, anytime and anything she wants, if she can handle a little reality in her fantasy life.

Review:

Catcalling Catherine was a hot and steamy story! Catherine is a woman who knows what she wants and Tony is just the right man for the long haul!

I found it was well written with all the right tantalizing surprises to keep you happy!

Catcalling Catherine is just the right thing to heat up your night and add a few ideas to your sexual repertoire. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to add some spice to their current sensual reading materials!

A Call To GLBT Authors




SBR is sponsoring a new EZine, BREACHING PREJUDICES, to support acceptance of gay rights.

We are currently looking for:

Short stories
Articles
Advertisements of GLBT books and relevant content

***If you don't have a pre-made ad, contact Kayden at: kaydenmcleod@gmail.com to discuss it!


Sincerely,

Kayden McLeod


Sunday, January 30, 2011

NOW RELEASED: Demonic Pandemonium

The Cornwall Coven, Book Three; Demonic Pandemonium

Kayden McLeod

Buy-Link:

http://silverpublishing.info/product_book_info/new-release-c-1/demonic-pandemonium-p-171

Genre: Erotic Paranormal Romance (Vampires, Demons, Angels)

Sub-Genre: Horror

Publisher: Silver Publishing

Website: http://silverpublishing.info/

Heat-Rating: Four Flames—Fiery

Tagline:

Sex, blood and rock and roll

Summary:

Pandora is a half-demon, alone in the world and good as abandoned, with a mother who barely tolerates her and a father who is unable to be with her nearly often enough for her tastes. She keeps to herself, and tries not to associate with others often, lest they discover her secret—until she meets Kevlar Cornwall. The two collide in ignorance of one another, but the sexual-attraction is indisputable and cannot be ignored, growing more profound with every passing moment. It blinds them to the lurking danger hiding just around the corner, out to end both their lives and everyone either of them have ever known or loved.

Excerpt One (RATED: PG)

Prologue

There are many types of people in this world.

And I have no idea what type I would be classified under. I walk through life always unsure of my next move and how it would affect others. Because everything I did rippled outward and long ago realized I had to limit my association with the “outside world”, relying on no one but myself.

I couldn’t rely on my family, friends or enemies for guidance of any sort; forever alone and doomed to always be. Such was the case with my kind—though I wouldn’t know, since I didn’t associate with them either.

What am I? A demon.

Hell, I couldn’t even fit into that category. I was half-mortal, a thing cursed to be complicated and dangerous—even to myself. I couldn’t do normal things, normal people did, mostly since all it would take is one wrong word or action, and all of a sudden I would turn into a monster that made everybody else quake in fear. A Frankenstein, but of a different sort.

And I was the only one on earth.

I had a human mother who hated me, and a demon father who I rarely saw or talked to. Creatures of the lower realms weren’t allowed on this plane without a direct access pass. And even then, it was sketchy.

So what was life like for me? Shit. Absolute uselessness.

You’d think it would be enough to drive a person just a little batty. But no. There’s more.

I was an author by profession. I had an agent, an excellent career—or I’d had anyways. It isn’t as good as it sounds.

Within the past few days, I’d realized my chosen path in life wasn’t as great as I’d cracked it up to be. My agent, Sam, proved to be ripping me off; stealing my work right from under my nose.

The most important book of my existent too boot. Well, to me anyway. The novel would be published, but it sure as fuck wasn’t by me. Sam Poetize was an underhanded slime-ball who had worked on my behalf since the beginning of my writing days. He made me believe in him for believing in me. But that came to an end.

Trusting him was one of the biggest mistakes I could’ve made.

One of; but definitely not the worst.

Oh no, that would be reserved for the day I’d been born, if you asked my mother, Lillian.

I lay in bed, staring at the ceiling while I thought of this, when the radio came on instead of an alarm clock, at exactly six-forty am. Loud noises hurt my overly sensitive ears.

Nickelback’s Burn It To The Ground blared through the speaker.

When it ended, one of the disk-jockeys of the Jeff O-Neil Morning Show, Charis’ voice filled the room. The program was a favourite of mine with their causal banter and favoured rock; but not the deep concern that weighed her careful words.

“It continued last night,” Charis began. “The murder count is now up to ten.”

“Ten?” Jeff repeated.

“The police are cautioning the people of Vancouver to be on the look out, and to report anything suspicious.”

“What did they find this time?” Scotty inquired.

“The witnesses on scene were reported saying a severed arm was found in one part of an alley, and a leg on the other side of Hornby Street. No weapon was found or determined.”

I sat up in bed, listening closely. I lived only a few blocks from there.

This would cause hysteria. Pandemonium. Something deep inside stirred at the thought of so many terrified people. I shivered, and then thrust aside the part of me that relished the distinct possibility. My human part was appalled, and since I resided on earth and not—well not on earth, that would be the emotion I stuck with.

I’d seen this as nothing more than a serial killer the news named him—or her.

Yet these murders held a far greater meaning in relation to me, and the lives surrounding mine. I just didn’t know it then.

Perhaps if I’d been more cautious and aware of my surroundings, the signs of my own demise would have shown themselves to me before it was too late.

But that was wrong.

It had been too late for a long time already.

Friday, January 28, 2011

Francesca Hawley, Controlling Interest

Title: Controlling Interest

Author: Francesca Hawley

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Erotic Romance

Sub-Genre: BDSM

Keywords: BDSM, Erotic Romance, Ellora's Cave, Francesca Hawley, Controlling Interest, 1-800-DOM-help series,

Length: Novella

ISBN E-Book:

9781419932939

Publisher: Ellora's Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9039-controlling-interest.aspx

Reviewer: Kayden McLeod

Blurb/Summary:

Mozelle “Mouse” Vincent inherits money, a club and her boss’ son as a business partner when society leader Regine Stuart dies. Torin Stuart knows what his late mother’s wishes were for his exclusive BDSM club, Erotically Bound, but he’s pissed that he’s forced to trust Mouse—especially when her inherently submissive nature arouses the sexual Dominant in him. After baring all in a heated, intense scene, Mouse realizes they still have to work together, but now Tor challenges any business suggestion she makes. When she wants to offer education classes, Tor dares her to organize the class and participate—as a submissive. To his chagrin, Mouse agrees, but he can’t stand the thought of any other Dom touching her. Suddenly there’s far more at stake than the controlling interest in their club…because love is the ultimate prize in their power exchange.

Review:

Quite simply put—I loved it.

Ms. Hawley creates a multifaceted world that keeps you guessing and turning the pages.

Regine Stuart has a legacy to pass to her successors after a long, hard battle against cancer. She passes this on to her loves ones in the form of her last will and testament, delivered to her son, Tor and assistant, Mouse by a lawyer. It is complete with instructions for manning a business venture together. And if they couldn’t play nice together, the ramifications would be that they both lost everything.

This story shows a loving relationship between mother and son. What happens when Regine takes Mouse into her employment and comes to care for her like a daughter. In return, this woman treats the parental figure with adoration and respect.

Even though the polished mastermind was never “on stage,” the lead’s deceased mother, Regine Stuart was filled with spunk and fire. I greatly enjoyed how she played the main characters like pawns she wanted nothing but the best for. And she did know these two—almost, if not better than they knew themselves.

At its heart, Controlling Interest was a love story at its finest. The fast developing passion Tor and Mouse feel for one another is awe inspiring, and their journey to get to the pivotal point in their relationship will take you for a ride with them. You will go through the realistic realm of a Master and his Sub that Ms. Hawley has inked. You will see aspects to the world of BDSM displayed with perfection and sensitivity, with just the right touch of back-story to give you an insider’s look into the characters and who they are today. This addition to the series has thoroughly earned the Five Siren Stones I’ve given it.

Controlling Interest is a fetish fairy tale come true. In the future, I will without a doubt, be pursuing more in Ms. Hawley’s 1-800-DOM-help Series!


Thursday, January 27, 2011

Zena Wynn, Carol's Mate

Title: Carol's Mate

Author: Zena Wynn

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Sub-Genre: African American

Keywords: Shape-Shifter

Length: Novella

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60737-906-5

Price: $4.99

Publisher: Loose Id

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/True-Mates-Carols-Mate.aspx

Reviewer: Natasha Larry

Blurb/Summary:

Life happens when you least expect it...

Carol Scott has everything planned. She'll finish her studies, do her internship, and return to Refuge to help run the medical center being built by her pack, The Ravens. When the time is right, she'll choose a male of her pack to mate with, push out a few pups, and life will continue--nice, neat, and orderly, just the way she likes it.

Then she meets Mark Johnson--sexy, handsome...human. Forbidden. A man who won't take no for an answer. He stirs her senses and even has her wolf sitting up and paying attention. What's a girl to do? Obey the rules or follow her heart and damn the consequences?

Then the choice is taken out of her hands.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content and graphic language.

Review:

I enjoyed reading this story because it was quick, entertaining and fast paced. The story centers around Carol, a college student who also happens to be a shifter. Carol has a seemingly good plan to finish school and return to her pack, the Ravens, but as things unfold in this novella, her plan begins to unravel.

Why? The answer is always a man. A man and a forbidden love.

The writer gets to the good stuff right off the bat, a fact that all readers can appreciate. The main character is likeable and Mark Johnson is very, very sexy. I liked the forbidden love angle and the sexual danger; this added to the sex scenes that are very well written by the way. The ending came as a surprise to me and it was a nice little twist.

I would read it again and you probably will too. Short and sweet in a naughty way.

Mari Carr, Any Given Sunday

Title: Any Given Sunday

Author: Mari Carr

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Keywords: Ménage, M/M/F, M/M, Bondage, Spanking, D/s

Length: Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419932724

Price: $5.95

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-8988-any-given-sunday.aspx

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:

Wild Irish, Book Seven

The child who is born on the Sabbath day, is bonny and blithe and good and gay.

Sean Collins is happy working at the family pub and sharing a house with the woman of his dreams. He and Lauren are equals in every way, including in bed, where they burn the sheets. Life is good. Even if he must hide a couple of secrets to keep it that way.

Lauren is madly in love with Sean. They share everything—almost. She can’t deny sensing…something. A certain feeling when she, Sean and their friend Chad are all together. But she doesn’t press. How can she when she’s not being completely forthright herself?

Chad is feeling pretty miserable, and renting a room in Sean and Lauren’s home has only made it worse. In a house filled with secrets, Chad’s are doozies.

When an opportunity arises to explore their deep desires, the trio plunges into a sex-filled, emotionally charged ménage. Long-buried feelings are revealed, changing their lives irrevocably. Whether for better or worse, only Sean, Chad and Lauren can decide.

Review:

Any Given Sunday was an incredible story about trust and love. It was refreshing to see the back story spanned years and made the three main characters very good friends before becoming lovers.

We are introduced to Lauren and Sean as their relationship has just reached the next level. While all the time Chad is a main part of their lives; he is suffering from the love that he feels can’t be expressed or returned.

Everything comes to a head when Lauren and Chad, psychology students, are given some interesting research topics. Lauren wants Sean and Chad to help her explore the D/s dynamic with her as the submissive. The boys take it as a challenge not to let her down. Chad is excited because he finally gets to explore and express his feelings.

The chemistry between Chad, Sean, and Lauren just sizzles off the pages and will leave you breathless for the next Sunday. The D/s dynamic really brings forth the trust and friendship that they have all shared throughout the years.

The secondary family characters add some fun and whimsy to the story. However, the fun is never out done by the loving acceptance they all show one another. Mari Carr, set up a truly wonderful family model with the Collins Family.

This is a must read. For any Wild Irish fans, it’s another glimpse back into their world that you won’t want to miss.

Tina Donahue, Sensual Stranger

Title: Sensual Stranger

Author: Tina Donahue

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Sub-Genre: BDSM

Keywords: Bondage, Spanking, D/s

Length: Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419932366

Price: $5.95

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-8932-sensual-stranger.aspx

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:

Into his life she came—wanting…willing…wanton.

It’s no ordinary morning when Toni arrives at Zach’s garage. Flat broke, with a past she won’t share, Toni is instantly taken by such a potently virile man. Direct and unashamed, she tells him she’s a motorcycle performance artist who needs work and knows motors.

Zach knows women, and Toni is unlike any he’s met. Lushly sensuous, exceedingly assured, she’d easily be his match in business and bed. A provocative challenge that stirs him as nothing has since losing his wife. A chance he’s reluctant to take. He offers no more than a month’s employment then she’ll have to be on her way.

The hours tick by. Each word and glance intensifies their escalating desire, forcing them to surrender to passion and Toni’s need for Zach’s dominance. Driven by carnal hunger, conquered by yearning, they face the unforeseen truth of Toni’s past and a future neither of them expected.

Review:

The chemistry between Zach and Toni is mesmerising and will draw you in and lead you on to find out what happens. As Toni and Zach burn with desire so will you. Sensual Stranger is a page turner with erotic and hot love scenes. There is a little bondage, D/s play, and spanking mixed in the love scenes that is done very tastefully, and adds to the level of trust the characters have for one another.

As the story progresses, you will yearn to know the background story to these characters that seem to come alive on the pages. Tina Donahue really makes you care about her characters. As a reader, you’ll feel Toni’s sorrow and despair. Zach’s loss makes him vulnerable and realistic. He wants to find happiness again, but he’s just scared of the possibility of rejection. You’ll be rooting for them as a couple.

Toni’s mysterious past haunts her throughout the story and keeps her from moving forward until she’s confronted by it and Zach. Tina Donahue does a nice job of keeping up the suspense until the final revealing confrontation between Zach and Toni.

This story is entertaining, definitely sensual, and will leave you wanting more of Tina Donahue’s creations.

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

KyAnn Waters & Tarah Scott, Born into Fire

Title: Born into Fire

Author: KyAnn Waters & Tarah Scott

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Sub-Genre: Fantasy

Keywords: Shape-Shifter

Length: Short Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60737-896-9

Price: $5.99

Publisher: Loose Id

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/Born-into-Fire.aspx

Reviewer: Mona

Tagline: Ryalda, the Element heroes of old, leak from the void and bring with them beauty, desire...and destruction.

Blurb/Summary:

Change is hard, but the unexpected metamorphosis into fire goes beyond any change Kenna Lang could ever have imagined. When she discovers her ancestors are actually ancient beings who exist in a void beyond our universe and the dragons of her childhood dreams are real, life as she knows it is over.

Erion, an Air Element, answers the call of Kenna’s emerging fire to discover a woman on the cusp of transformation. He’s drawn to her, the need to mate overwhelming. However, Erion killed once before by having sex in element form, and has sworn not to merge with another Element. But the discovery that a male Fire Element is intent upon enslaving Kenna’s soul forces Erion to get involved. He will save her. But he aches to do more than protect her. He wants to touch her -- to pleasure her, but he can't risk bonding his Element to hers.

Erion is unprepared for the emotions Kenna awakens in him -- or the lengths to which she will go to save him.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Sex while in shifted Element form.

Review:

Just looking at the cover of Born into Fire and you can tell it is going to be one hot story! KyAnn Waters and Tarah Scott have done an incredible job at bringing the elements to life in this rousing fantasy romance.

I loved the connection between that of a Fire Elemental and an artistic Glass Blower as well as her being mated to an Air Elemental. What better way to heat up a raging fire, but to add some unexpected air in just the right place!

Born into Fire is a faced paced story from beginning to end and leaves the reader looking for more. I am hoping there are future stories that pick up where this one leaves you longing for more!

Stephanie Bedwell-Grime, Fair Game, Inc.

Title: Fair Game, Inc.

Author: Stephanie Bedwell-Grime

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Keywords: Champagne Rose, Spicy

Page Count: 252

ISBN E-Book: 1-60154-821-4

Price: $6.00

ISBN For Print: 978-1601548214

Price: $12.99

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=175_133&products_id=4252

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

Fair Game, Inc. Their motto: Don’t get mad, get even! After a romance gone wrong, Amber Shaw has found a new business niche: revenge for the lovelorn. And business is booming. Until she mistakes her intended victim for his identical twin.

Prosecutor Grayson Charles is tired of listening to his brother’s romantic woes. Just when he thinks his night can’t get any worse, a red-haired, spit-fire of a woman treats him to an ice-bath—from the waist down.

Grayson vows to get even with the proprietor of Fair Game, Inc. by taking her to court. What he doesn’t expect: Amber is sentenced to a month of office assistance at his law firm.

Despite the circumstances, Amber finds herself falling for the handsome lawyer. But while working in his office, she uncovers some dark secrets. All the clues behind these disturbing revelations lead to Grayson, but she has no proof.

Is it Grayson? Or does someone harbor a more personal vendetta against her?

Review:

If you were spurned by an ex-lover, what would you do? In Amber Shaw's case, she started a business to get revenge on lovers that hurt someone. But for her, when a job goes wrong, it changes her life in ways she hadn't expected.

I must warn you; at times in this book you will clench your sides and gasp for air from laughing. This book has it all! Humor, suspense, and revenge. When you first meet Amber, it may take some time to warm up to her. On the outside, she's stubborn and sometimes seems very closed off. But when she must work with Grayson after he takes her to court, she starts to change. Her walls slowly crumble, and you see the reason Amber is the way she is.

Readers, if you're looking for a romantic comedy, with some mystery and suspense, then pick up Fair Game, Inc. by Stephanie Bedwell-Grime. Laugh, cry, and cheer Amber and Grayson on in this delightful story.

Sharon Buchbinder, Bonded For Life

Title: Bonded For Life

Author: Sharon Buchbinder

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Keywords: Last Rose Of Summer Rosette, Sensual, Class Reunion

Page Count: 61

ISBN E-Book: d5760

Price: $2.50

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=175_140&products_id=4227

Reviewer: Mona

Blurb/Summary:

Class of '85 Series

When Lola Getz receives the invitation to her high school reunion, her first impulse is to toss it into the shredder. A terrible thing happened the day before her graduation-she never wanted to return to that dreadful place. But, when the Mexican drug wars heat up literally in her back yard, she’s forced to flee her home and run to safe little Summerville.

Forty-three year-old police officer Webster (Web) Bond lives in Summerville and knows all about the bothersome reunion preparations. He has no fond memories of that time in his life when he was known as “The Dweebster.” The only person Web’s interested in seeing probably doesn’t even remember him.

Little does Lola know when she arrives under cover of night that The Dweebster has grown up to become a hunky cop--and he has her in his cross hairs.

Review:

I found Bonded For Life an action-packed ride from beginning to end! A well edited Romance with just the right amount of mystery, sentiment and action. With all the elements one would expect in a High School reunion, from the school yard bully to the gossiping cliques.

A wonderful tangled web of deceit and treachery that follows Lola to change the life she thought she knew. I loved the weaving of characters and how some knew more about Lola then Lola herself. Where human foibles open a path to discovery. Well Done!

Laurann Dohner, Berrr's Vow

Title: Berrr’s Vow

Author: Laurann Dohner

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Science Fiction

Sub-Genre: Romance

Keywords: Sex Slave, Alien

Length: Plus-Size Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419929205

Price: $6.99

ISBN for Print:

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-8761-berrrs-vow.aspx

Reviewer: Mona

Blurb/Summary:

Book four in the Zorn Warriors series.

Kidnapped from Earth and transported to planet Zorn to be sold as a sex slave, Shanna is one angry, frightened woman ready to fight anyone who tries to touch her. Raised in foster care, she’s not going to take any crap off some alien men no matter how big, terrifying or muscular they are. Before she can be sold, she’s freed by a huge, sexy Zorn warrior…a warrior with the most beautiful blue eyes she’s ever seen. Shanna demands he take her under his protection when she realizes she’s stuck on Zorn.

Hyvin Berrr, the leader of Zorn, thinks humans are helpless and weak. Shanna decides to teach the big hunk he’s wrong by knocking him on his backside. He might think she’s playing but she’s trying to teach him a lesson. She’s not sure if she wants to fight her feelings for the sexy alien, though if a woman has to lose a battle, this just might be the one time to concede.

Review:

Who would have thought that being an alien sex slave could be so much fun! In Berrr's Vow I found an exciting, action packed romance waiting to happen! Don't tell human women we are weak, as Shanna proves to her protector.

I enjoyed the sassy humorous comebacks this pint sized heroine has! She has an attitude that gets her into hot water at times, but what a way to get wet! A well written tale that will have me looking for the rest of the Zorn Warrior Series!

Marilyn Campbell, In and Out of Time

Title: In and Out of Time

Author: Marilyn Campbell

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Time-Travel Romance

Sub-Genre: Paranormal

Keywords: Devil, Murder

Length: Plus-Size Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419930911

Price: $6.99

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-8797-in-and-out-of-time.aspx

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

In 1965, Mark Templeton is about to be executed for crimes he did not commit and offers his soul to the devil for a chance at vengeance.In 2010, author Kelly Kirkwood is researching an old murder case with a supernatural twist. A vividly erotic dream involving the accused sets the stage for that man to be miraculously transported into her life.

Mark is gorgeous, fun, sexy as hell and completely dependent on her help to resolve his past. Their attraction is so intense, it’s as though they’ve been together before. Assuming he will vanish at any moment, Kelly sheds her sexual inhibitions to try out some of the steamy scenes she’s written and he’s delighted to introduce her to a few things she never considered.

Given time, lust could turn to love, but their time together has been limited by a challenge between the powers of light and dark, and by a group of hate-filled men who will do anything to prevent the past from being resurrected.

Publisher’s Note: This story was previously published elsewhere under the title Out of Time, and has been revised for Ellora’s Cave.

Review:

What would you do if a man showed up with a claim of travelling through time? For author Kelly Kirkwood, the situation comes right out of a fiction book. Well, sometimes life is stranger than fiction. The last thing Mark remembers before appearing at Kelly's residence was being prepared to be executed- in 1965! And ironically enough, Kelly had been researching that very same murder that Mark had been convicted of for her new book idea.

I found In and Out of Time to be riveting and suspenseful. Time travels are so interesting and many are unique. That is the case with this story. I finished this book within only a few hours, I was so engaged. For anyone who loves romantic suspense and the concept of time travel, then definitely check out Marilyn Campbell's In and Out of Time, and hold on tight, for you'll be in for a thrill ride.

Monday, January 24, 2011

Christopher Newman, Deviant Ark

Title: Deviant Ark

Author: Christopher Newman

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Erotic Romance

Sub-Genre: Science Fiction

Keywords: BDSM, GLBT, Interracial/Multicultural, Ménage, Futuristic, M/M, M/F/M

Word Count: 81,158

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60435-728-8

Price: $5.99

Publisher: Red Rose Publishing

Buy-Link: http://redrosepublishing.com/books/product_info.php?products_id=623

Reviewer: Sally Sapphire

Blurb/Summary:

It is the near future and Earth has vastly changed. Political, social, and religious reforms have melded the vastness of humanity into one voice and world. Deviant Behavior isn't permitted. An underground movement has sprung up to free humanity from terrible persecution, blind prejudice, and false progression. Marlene Strombella, a native of the Mars Colony she hides her lesbian passions from the general public. She lives a lie, a false marriage, to avoid detection by the government. A starship of alien refugees has been granted political asylum from their home planet. Nicknamed "Dualies" for the tall, elegant aliens possess both set of genitals and are shunned by most humans. Marlene finds herself attracted to one of them. A willowy and elegant creature named C'est'a. She strives to come to grips with her fascination. But between her regular job, her role in the Resistance, and the "re-genderization" of her last lover Marlene cannot cope with it all. Does she have time to uncover the truth of her feelings for C'est'a, break through the distrust her would-be lover's race have for humans, and still carry out her covert operations? Or will Mars erupt into possible interstellar or inter-species war first?

Review:

Deviant Ark is one of the most near-perfect reads I’ve had the pleasure of enjoying in a very long while. I went into it with such high expectations that I was actually reluctant to begin reading it and risk disappointment. Much to my surprise, it fulfilled all of my expectations, and even presented a few wonderful surprises.

Much of the book revolves around the various conflicts between the ‘straight’ authorities, the ‘deviant’ human resistance, and the equally ‘deviant’ alien refugees of I’leana. In a future where the world has been homogenized under a single government and a single religion, deviance is not tolerated in any form. Gays and lesbians are hunted down, abducted, and forcibly ‘reconditioned,’ all broadcast live on TV as a form of state-sponsored entertainment. Meanwhile, the dual-gendered alien refugees are mocked as much for their gender as for their blue skin and pointed ears, confined to the worst human slums, and treated like slaves.

While a covert Martian resistance cell does exist, operating as much for political as for sexual reasons, they’re simply incapable of driving the kind of change needed to allow the ‘deviants’ to find acceptance. There’s a sense of hopelessness to their efforts, although you can’t help but admire their perseverance.

What holds the story together and provides us with hope is the budding relationship between Marlene and C'est'a. It’s a wonderfully awkward love affair, with Marlene unsure she can handle being attracted to a woman with a penis, and C’est’a exploring her first feelings for a human woman. Her parents are divided in their opinions of the relationship and end up presenting Marlene with a challenge to prove herself. It is through this challenge that Marlene not only wins their respect, but takes the first steps towards orchestrating cooperation between the resistance and the I’leana.

If the story has a failing – and it may have been intentional on the part of the author – it’s that morality is so closely tied to sexuality. With one or two minor exceptions, the ‘straight’ population is portrayed as a bastion of cruelty and negativity. Similarly, despite a few rough edges, the ‘deviant’ populations, both human and alien, are almost portrayed lovingly and positively.

Ultimately, Deviant Ark is a serious science fiction story first, an LGBT romance second, and an erotic romp third. The story starts and ends with well-orchestrated space battles, and the climactic confrontation in the streets between the resistance and the army is as horrific as it is heroic. As for the sex scenes, they’re sporadic, but inventive and exciting in their intensity. More importantly, the sex plays a key role in the story, exposing the alliances and deceptions upon which the fate of the world rests.

Recommended for anybody with an interest in the human condition.