Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Virna DePaul, A Vampire's Salvation

Title: A Vampire's Salvation

Author: Virna DePaul

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Keywords: Vampires

Word Count: 25,000

ISBN E-Book: N/A

Price: $2.99

Publisher: Smashwords

Buy-Link: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/35723

Reviewer: Natasha Larry

Tagline: A Vampire’s Salvation is short, sweet, and ridiculously hot.

Blurb/Summary:

Vampire Jake Rios heads up the CA governor's security team, but he's distracted by having just discovered his true mate, the human female who can give him love, children, and continuing immortality. Frankie Stewart's attracted to Jake but her priority is protecting her heart. Can Jake eliminate the person threatening her, convince her to trust him, and gain them both eternal happiness?

Review:

Author Virna DePaul knows how to dole out the sex, and in A Vampire’s Salvation, the hot sex starts before you read the first sentence. Of course I’m talking about the insanely hot book cover that is sure to have readers breathing heavy.

The best thing about A Vampire’s Salvation is that the writer gets right to it with perfect pacing. This novella tells the story of vampire Jake Rios who is smoking hot, and Frankie Stewart, the tough, and very likable female of his affection.

Frankie shies away from men after her last relationship left her with scars. A literal scar, that readers will be happy to know, she wears proudly on her face. Still, she feels an inexplicable pull to Jake, mind body, and by the end of the novella, soul.

This is a must read for any fans of paranormal erotica. It has everything fans come to expect from this genre, a wonderful plot, and hot, HOT sex with an irresistible vampire.

Monday, March 28, 2011

Marisa Chenery, Foreseen Hunger

Title: Foreseen Hunger

Author: Marisa Chenery

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Keywords: Vampires, Ra’s Chosen Series

Length: Short Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419933486

Price: $5.20

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9127-foreseen-hunger.aspx

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:

Book six in the Ra’s Chosen series.

Takan has hidden who he is for three thousand years, but the time for secrecy is coming to an end. He knows it, and more importantly, Ra knows it. To complicate matters, Takan has found his mate. And she means more than happily-ever-after and smokin’ hot sex. She’s the key to ending the demon god Apep’s threat to the mortal realm. Too bad Takan, and who he is, scares the bejesus out of her.

Falon lost her love years ago to the bite of an undead and has spent her nights hunting the creatures ever since. When she happens upon a man fighting the same fight as she, relief overcomes her. She’s not alone. But when she kisses him and discovers his fangs, she does what any warrior girl would do—she stabs him.

Just as the couple is coming to terms with their relationship, Ra drops a bomb that changes Takan forever, and Falon discovers her true destiny. The couple must deal with a new beginning while bringing an end to an age-old battle.

Review:

Foreseen Hunger starts out action packed and keeps on going. This fast-paced story will have your attention the entire time.

There is much amusement in the protective alpha male that Takan turns into around Falon. Falon is unique and she shares a quickly growing love for Takan. Takan falls head over heels for Falon and the two of them come to terms with each other very fast. Since they fell fast, it left more time for their steamy, erotic love scenes.

The other warrior’s antics and comments will have you smiling and chuckling. The banter back and forth between all the characters makes them seem to come to life.

Foreseen Hunger is filled with exciting plot twists and turns that keep the pages turning all on their own. There is so much that is revealed and brought to closure that you will have to read the story because I won’t spoil the fun and adventure.

All too soon I came to, “The End”, but Marisa Chenery left enough breathing room to play in this world again if she chooses.

This was a fun and enjoyable read. Marisa Chenery knows how to spin a tale.

Christina James, Operation: Spank Me

Title: Operation: Spank Me

Author: Christina James

Rating: Four And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: Erotic Contemporary Romance

Sub-Genre: BDSM

Keywords: Scarlet Rose, Spanking, Bondage

Page Count: 268

ISBN E-Book: 1-60154-917-2

Price: $6.00

ISBN for Print: 978-1601549174

Price: $12.99

Publisher: The Wilder Roses

Buy-Link: http://thewildrosepress.com/wilderroses/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=156&products_id=816

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

What begins as a sexy cyber affair quickly turns into the real thing when Lt. Finn Coleman shows up on Emma Shield's doorstep to fulfill all her fantasies. When Emma doesn't match the persona she presented online, he decides to seduce and discover the sensual woman who claimed she enjoyed spankings and bondage. But Finn is a career military man with a dangerous mission ahead.

All Emma wanted was to live out her hottest fantasies with her luscious new pen pal. She felt safe pretending to be a wicked seductress with Finn a world away. Then he shows up, bigger than life and making even her wildest dreams seem tame. All too soon, Emma realizes that more is at stake than her heart and losing Finn is not part of the plan.

Review:

Operation: Spank Me was a deliciously erotic and steamy read. I loved the opening into the story with the internet texting. After reading their fantasy letters to one another I’d hoped their first meeting would be explosive. What I was shown was two fantastic personalities. I had a feeling Emma wasn’t being totally honest with her appearance and I loved that it didn’t matter to Finn.

The small town antics really tickled my fancy. Being from a small town myself it doesn’t take much for tongues to begin wagging and that sexy Finn was definitely a reason to set mouths and tongues on fire.

Their story moved quickly with spanking and white hot passion. Watching Emma voice dirty language was great for someone totally introverted except for online. I hoped they’d have more than just a great week together and something permanent. The twist was a shocker that left me on the edge waiting.

Lynne Connolly, Dept. 57: Griffin's Treasure

Title: Dept. 57: Griffin's Treasure

Author: Lynne Connolly

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Keywords: Shape-Shifter, Violence, Griffin, Dept. 57

Length: Novel Plus

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60737-967-6

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Loose Id

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/Dept-57-Griffins-Treasure.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Previous Book: Dept. 57: Jewel of the Dragon

International soccer star Josh Friedland has a secret. He's a griffin shapeshifter, and a covert operative for Department 57. Josh's brother Laurie is missing, and Josh is sure businessman George Skeffington is involved. So he definitely can't trust Skeffington's stepdaughter, Chana Rafiz, even though he wants her with every fiber of his being.

When her controlling stepfather asks Chana to look after his guest, she suspects another trick to keep her by his side; only she finds that Josh is the man she's been waiting for all her life. Long, hot Californian nights see their bodies twined in more inventive positions than Chana even knew existed, but when she finally discovers his secret, she uncovers another. One about herself that'd been kept from her her whole life.

Together, Josh and Chana have to face dangers only Department 57 can help them with, but they plunge the whole Department into peril. If the Department is to endure, and Laurie is to be found, Josh and Chana must defeat the longest odds to succeed in their mission.

Publisher's Note: This book is a re-edited, revised version of the one previously released by another publisher, and contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Violence.

Review:

Dept. 57: Griffin's Treasure is one action packed read. Josh and Chana have sizzling chemistry from the get go. Clearly Chana isn’t happy with her personal life and the path she’s on, she just hasn’t found a way to escape an overly controlling step- father. And then Josh enters and she’s immediately drawn to his charismatic personality, so much so she puts him rightly in his place. That instance brought a chuckle to my lips. I admired Josh’s tenacity. He had charm that worked magic.

When it came to his brother, I’d hoped they’d find him in one piece.

Betrayal is in the works in this great read in a way that is heart breaking. The way the different species worked together amazed me even in the time of destruction and turmoil they didn’t blame Chana but embraced her. When the villain ended up receiving his due, I clapped. I was sickened that he’d been able to further manipulate his way into their lives after the depravity he’d caused for untold years.

I loved the setting and reading this Dept. 57 story and all the many species of paranormal beings included.

Evanne Lorraine, Camille's Capture

Title: Camille's Capture

Author: Evanne Lorraine

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy

Sub-Genre: Multicultural/Interspecies

Keywords: Ménage, M/M/F, M/M, Space Opera, Violence, Interspecies Sex,

Length: Short Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60737-964-5

Price: $5.99

Publisher: Loose Id

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/Camilles-Capture.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Genetically engineered for a single function, to breed, Camille has followed the rules and accepted the Goddess’s will as explained by the elders all her life. After artificial insemination fails, she gathers her courage, traveling to distant New Eden to try in-person breeding. When her matches fail to appear, the meek little breeder rebels, determined to leave the Goddess-forsaken world behind her as fast as the next ship home can make the jump to subspace.

Aegis exists only to fulfill his vow to avenge the death of his parents by a Baldorean blood mage. Not even the forbidden desire for Jaxon interferes with his quest. But contact with a breeder threatens everything he holds sacred.

For four years, Jaxon dreamed of tri-bond with Aegis. Isolated by hostilities in the endless war with Baldor, he’s trapped in the close quarters of their fighter with Aegis and Cami, his most secret dream come true. But instead of bliss, he finds himself plunged into a battle with prejudice, doubts, and jealousy.

Cami travels halfway across the universe, survives brutal rejection, humiliation and a firefight. Stranded with two fierce warriors, not even a broken heart will make her quit until she has the sperm she needs.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Anal play/intercourse, interspecies sex, ménage (m/m/f) male/male sexual practices, violence.

Review:

Evanne Lorraine does a wonderful job engaging the reader with Camille’s Capture. From the beginning, I was enthralled by the detailed build of her galactic world and the new Earthen world and her spin on the different species and warriors. I felt so horrible for Aegis and the loss of his parents and the innocent life he disregarded as a teen. However the tragedy made him into a formidable warrior that radiated spellbound power.

Add to that Jaxon’s all consuming lust/love for his best friend and a bond that’s illegal for them to share and it’s heartbreaking. Bringing in Cami is perfect for them. Her inability to conceive in her traditional way sends her on a journey to complete her task in a way that’s tasteless to those with her status.

Life sets them on a course that will teach them what really matters. I hoped Jaxon would accept Aegis for who he was and not what he’d been raised to learn, and loved Cami’s sassy mouth in telling Jaxon how it was. The passion between the three pushed past all bounds even while they combated an enemy stronger than they imagined.

I enjoyed this read immensely.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Cari Z., Mahalia Levey, Ross Baxter, JT Whitehall, Silver Wings (Anthology)

Title: Silver Wings (Anthology)

Edited by: Leigh Ellwood

Authors: Cari Z., Mahalia Levey, Ross Baxter, JT Whitehall

Rating: Four And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: Steampunk

Sub-Genre: Homoerotic Romance

Keywords: M/M, Bi-Male, Ménage, M/F/M

Word Count: 53,000

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60659-589-3

Price: $4.99

Publisher: Phaze

Buy-Link: http://www.king-cart.com/Phaze/product=Silver+Wings/exact_match=exact

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:

Wayward cowboys with mechanical toys, an enterprising post-Civil War pleasure seeker, lovers conflicted in flight, and a lonely inventor whose salvation washes up on the shore of Penzance ... these stories of passion in the time of steam are guaranteed to set fire to your sense.

Silver Wings, an anthology of M/M and bi-male steampunk, features works by Cari Z., Mahalia Levey, Ross Baxter and JT Whitehall, edited by Phaze bestseller Leigh Ellwood.


Review:

Silver Wings is an anthology revolving around a homoerotic steampunk theme.

Nothing Ventured by Cari Z. is a hot, erotic story with plenty of action to keep you engaged. Sean and Nick are wonderful characters. The plot is interesting and the story contains some magical elements as well as steampunk.

Spoils of War by Ross Baxter is an erotic story with a dark undertone. As a reader, you want to smack Tom and yell at him that he’s being used, but on the other hand you hope he’s not. You’re kept on the edge waiting to see what happens. While you wait you’re treated to a hot male ménage. Intrigue and blackmail add spice to the story. The story is well written and will leave you wanting more, but there are some editing issues that are a bit distracting.

Surface Tension by JT Whitehall is a good love story with a happy ending. The bit of mystery revolving around Geoffrey gives the story just the right amount of drama to keep the pages turning. Sheldon is an interesting and curious character that is very enjoyable.

Steamy Surrender by Mahalia Levey is a story that starts out with an erotic twist that will keep you reading. This is a page turner with a lot going on in such a short story. The author does a nice job of keeping the story engaging. Mahalia Levey uses the steam power theme in her story very creatively. This story has a very hot, erotic, steamy ménage that will leave you wanting more of Cadence, Merrick, and Braeden.

Overall, I enjoyed this anthology and the creative takes on the theme the authors used. I found the inventions, innovations, and fantasy with a foothold in an altered earth history to be very entertaining. If you enjoy steampunk romance then try out Silver Wings.

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Giulietta Jones, Lonesome Bride

Title: Lonesome Bride

Author: Giulietta Jones

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Sub-Genre: Romantic Comedy

Keywords: Champagne Rose, Sensual

Page Count: 258

ISBN E-Book: 1-60154-847-8

Price: $6.00

ISBN for Print: 978-1601548474

Price: $12.99

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=175_133&products_id=4333

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

Dex Hardenborough has no choice but to consider Ethan Ransome’s offer to acquire her ailing stepfather's company. The lucrative Ransome deal would protect the jobs of faithful Hardenborough employees and spare Nicholas Hardenborough from criminal charges.

The deal includes a bothersome stipulation, however. Before he'll part with his precious pennies, the ice-eyed Ransome insists on marriage. To her. Taking advantage of the unexpected proposal from a total stranger whose motives are suspiciously slick, Dex agrees to become Mrs. Ethan Ransome. Determined not to dwell on the prospect of sharing her future--and his bed--with the tall, humorless tycoon. Or deal with those conflicting, primitive urges whenever he touches her, like wanting to nestle against him while she pummels his wide chest with a claw hammer. No. Best just to grit her teeth and present herself for matrimony at the appointed hour. Because she'll need every ounce of resolve to spring the next falsehood on him. The really big one.

Review:

A deal is a deal....What else is she to do? Dex reluctantly takes Ethan's offer. Who knew that love would be in the bargain?

Lonesome Bride is a comedy, romance, and a bit of suspense all wrapped up into one. The heroine and hero, Dex and Ethan, are as different as night and day. But being together, something magical happens, even if they didn't start out liking each other too much. Can either of them get past the secrets and the drama?

I enjoyed this story. It's fun, intriguing and different. I can't wait to see what else this author has in store. I would most definitely look for other titles by Giulietta Jones.

Moira Reid, Rent-A-Husband, Inc.

Title: Rent-A-Husband, Inc.

Author: Moira Reid

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Sub-Genre: Romantic Suspense

Keywords: Murder, Killer

Length: Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60737-885-3

Price: $6.99

Publisher: Loose Id, LLC

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/RentAHusband-Inc.aspx

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

Crete Gannon witnesses his brother’s murder and finds himself next on the hit list of a killer notorious for eliminating witnesses under police protection. He discovers the perfect place to hide, a location no one would think to look for him -- Rent A Husband, Inc. His plan is simple: he’ll work under a false identity, cloistered safely away inside some anonymous, lonely, old lady’s house then put his brother’s killer away when he testifies at the trial.

But Tasha Henslow, a bed and breakfast owner whose building faces foreclosure, is not lonely and she’s not old. Nor, unfortunately, is she anonymous. He can get the work done while avoiding the killer, but not if she recognizes him. How long until she remembers the perfect night they spent together before she left him in acold bed alone?

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content and graphic language.

Review:

He's in disguise as a Rent-A-Husband, but the way he's feeling about Tasha, could he convince her to turn it into a permanent gig?

Crete needs somewhere to lie low for awhile, until he can testify at a trial. So he goes to see an old friend, Sage, who comes up with the perfect hiding place for him. Her best friend needs help with her B & B, bad. Crete takes over and soon wins Tasha's heart. But the dangers certainly lurk....

I enjoyed Rent-A-Husband, Inc. very much! It's full of secrets, danger, and of course, falling in love. Moira Reid creates dynamic, memorable characters that you can't help but love. Witty dialogue and interesting situations. The plot is well thought out and creative. This is my first time reading this author, but I can say with assurance it won't be my last.

Looking for romantic suspense with a bit of humor? Look no further than Rent-A-Husband, Inc. by Moira Reid.

Shiloh Walker, Under Your Spell

Title: Under Your Spell

Author: Shiloh Walker

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Keywords: Witches

Length: Novella

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419927324

Price: $4.45

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-8587-under-your-spell.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Nicholas Montgomery fell in love with a bewitching woman only months before his sworn obligation to marry another. His beloved’s fury cast a spell that lasted hundreds of years.

You will never love another like you love me. You will never know a moment’s peace for what you have done. Until you love me enough to forsake everything—your honor, your pride, your own soul—we cannot be together.

Reborn into the body of Sean Concannon, a powerful witch, he has finally found his beloved. Now he has a choice to make, and a sacrifice. One he may be unprepared to make.

Publisher’s Note: Previously released in the Hot Spells anthology.

Review:

Under Your Spell by Shiloh Walker led me into the lives of Nicolas and Aislinn two young adults in love but from different walks of life. The grave steps Aislinn took to end her life tore at my heart. I felt her strength and her zest for life as she found love and watched it turn bitter. Her price was steep for the both of them for I believe her selfish choice brought about centuries of unease even in her own rebirths.

Stubborn and Prideful Nicolas’ downfall cost him everything important. I saw in his lives unrest as promised and hoped he’d find Aislinn in reincarnation so that they may have a future together.

When Sean and Rhee step into the picture flames of passionate fire blazed bright. I’d hoped they’d find a way to be together and to bridge the past with the present to heal.

This short read was delightful.

Jasmine Haynes, Take Your Pick

Title: Take Your Pick

Author: Jasmine Haynes

Rating: Siren's Best Book Stone

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Keywords: Ménage, M/M/F, M/M

Length: Novella

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60737-837-2

Price: $4.99

Publisher: Loose Id, LLC

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/Take-Your-Pick.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Grant Tyler is sophisticated, intelligent, controlled, and a highly successful CEO of a Fortune 500. He’s Rena Lancaster’s perfect match: same background, same career path; they speak each other’s language. In bed, he makes her see stars. But then there’s Karl Kristiansen. Every bit as virile, masculine, and intelligent as Grant, he’s her contractor: earthy, hands work-roughened, body tough, and powerful. And he takes Rena’s senses by storm.

When Grant decides he wants Rena exclusively, he forces a decision on her. And it’s Karl who comes up with the perfect test for choosing between them: make love with them both at the same time, and see who does the best job.

When their sexual play becomes a true ménage, with Grant and Karl each trying to top the other, willing to do anything Reba asks -- even touch each other -- the three of them together are like spontaneous combustion. Now that she’s had a taste of the real thing, how can Rena choose between these two perfect men when they both give her different things she craves?

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Anal play/intercourse, ménage (m/m/f with male/male interaction.

Review:

Take Your Pick started off hot and heavy and kept the pace throughout the read. Grant and Rena belonged together. I enjoyed the way they blew off steam and the intense relationship they had together. I could tell that Rena loved him but something was missing, something she needed. Finding out what that something was took me awhile but when it manifested, making total sense I found myself agreeing one hundred percent with her. I’d hoped he’d kick it in high gear and let loose.

Karl the total opposite of Grant had me melting just from his presence alone. Rena’s relationship with Karl differed from her relationship with Grant. As I got to know Karl, I realized he knew and was fine with it.

What surprised me was Grant’s decision to give Rena what she needed a threesome, however in the back of my mind I had to wonder if after their completed time together she’d be able to leave one for the other. I couldn’t believe the immediate change in Grant.

This was one hot read to be read again.

Mardi Ballou, Soap Bloke

Title: Soap Bloke

Author: Mardi Ballou

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Romance

Keywords: Older Woman/Younger Man, Sophisticate

Length: Quickie

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419929168

Price: $2.49

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-8566-soap-bloke.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Hit TV show lovers Gwen and Dirk are a real-life couple. After a production shake-up, a hot young starlet is hired to replace Gwen onscreen. Threatened much? Gwen is terrified that Dirk, who’s ten years younger, will leave her in real life too—but she won’t give up without a fight.

Dirk adores Gwen, but her paranoia is killing him…killing them. He’s at the end of his rope when he finds one more piece of rope—in the front seat of his car. Hmm…the possibilities.

Review:

Soap Bloke was a great read. I’m not into much daytime television but after reading this delightful story, maybe I should turn on the tube and see what I’m missing. I found Dirk and Gwen an adorable couple.

Gwen’s insecurities stemming no doubt from the lime lights younger is better mindset, and her man’s previous relationships. What I saw was that Dirk really loved Gwen in a way that had nothing to do with age but everything to do with all woman. They had an unrivalled chemistry that blazed white hot. I felt if she kept up, she’d lose out on a good thing, love.

Dirk really showed me how compassionate he was when dealing with his woman and his job. The fact that he had enough control to separate business from pleasure on set showcased how well he could rein in emotions and remain logical at the same time. I was saddened when their profession and their personal life came to a cross roads. I only hoped he’d be able to find a different approach to showing Gwen he was hers for keeps, and hoped that Gwen would trust in him.

Friday, March 25, 2011

Otherworlds Publicity Opens

Watch our commerical: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5a4ZN_cRUrM


Dear Readers,

It has finally happened! Otherworlds Publicity has opened, with our full services available to you.
We have an excellent staff I am proud to present. My partner in crime returns, now my partner in business, Trent Kinsey. He brings his web, lay-out and graphic design experience to several key areas of the business.
Brigit Aine, a fabulous Paranormal Romance Author, co-owner of Sensual Treats and Just Another Paranormal Monday, joins us as my Jill-of-all-trades manager. She will be offering you Blog Tours and e-mail format newsletters.
Dawné Dominique is a very talented graphic/cover artist, accomplished oil painter, managing editor, and the author of the First Series! She brings her artistic eye to provide you with excellent service and artwork.
Some of our services cover promotionals, trailers, blog-tours, lay-out/design, blog design and much, much more! And right now, we are having our Grand Opening Sale



The best we have to offer in one single package, with 40% off—but this is for a limited time, first come, first serve basis. Only the first fifteen clients will be offered this package at this rate.
Be sure to check us out. Book a consultation to see what works best for you!
If you like, you can follow our blog to keep up with our promo specials, news, samples and more!
Thank you for hanging out with me today. To one lucky commenter, I will be giving away a free, personalized author ad or website graphic (your choice!)

Good Luck,
Kayden McLeod
Owner, Siren Book Reviews and Otherworlds Publicity 


Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Brenna Lyons, Daughters of Man: Prize Match

Title: Daughters of Man: Prize Match

Author: Brenna Lyons

Rating: Four And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Erotic Romance

Sub-Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction

Keywords: HEA Ending, Alien

Page Count: 31

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60659-599-2

Price: $2.99

Publisher: Phaze Books

Buy-Link: http://www.phaze.com/book.php?title=Daughters+of+Man%3A+Prize+Match

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:
Sabine has come to Sakk, a winged female, a prize match. Her mate will be an older male, a general or master general. She has no choice in that. The only power she has is to refuse an abusive mate.

Sahtahn has no intention of fighting to approach the prize match, but when Sabine is attacked on her way to the riser, he changes his mind. She's not the cold woman he'd believed her. She's a frightened young woman in need of a gentle hand. If she accepts his advances, he will have the greatest prize imaginable.

Review:

We enter the story as Sabine is getting ready to embark on Sakk, an alien planet, to be claimed by a mate. We get to experience some of her apprehension and fear.

Sabine’s apprehension continues on until General Sahtahn puts her at ease. Her claiming is erotic, sensual, and descriptive. Throughout the claiming we get more of an understanding of the laws and culture on Sakk. However, it is a short story revolving around a claiming, so there is not an in-depth explanation regarding the planet and culture. The author just highlights what we need to know for this story.

As more about the culture comes out so does the personalities of both Sabine and Sahtahn. It’s hard not to fall for this couple and hope the best for them. Between Sabine’s loving nature and inexperience and Sahtahn’s kind, caring nature and experience; the two just about light the pages on fire.

For paranormal erotic romance and science fiction fans, Brenna Lyons’ short story is a must read. If you have read Sons of Heaven: Beldon and you need another fix of this fantasy world then you will enjoy Daughters of Man: Prize Match.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Wynter Daniels, Tropic of Trouble

Title: Tropic of Trouble

Author: Wynter Daniels

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Keywords: Murder

Length: Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419929724

Price: $5.95

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-8776-tropic-of-trouble.aspx

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

When Kelsey Ackerman’s assistant at her used bookstore is murdered, the police label it a botched robbery by a desperate drug addict. But Kelsey suspects the perpetrator was looking for a rare Shakespeare volume that someone unknowingly donated. Now a killer’s sights are set on Kelsey.

Jail guard Jason Jones only wants to protect her, but after suffering a controlling father and an abusive ex-husband, Kelsey wants nothing to do with the confident, hot sergeant. Until the danger becomes crystal clear, and the only man who can save her is the very man she can’t resist.

Review:

Who knew that a donated rare book could turn out to have a deadly cost. First, the sweet lady who works for her was murdered, and then the target is on Kelsey. The suspense intensifies and the dangers are real. As are the dangers of falling for sexy Jason. Kelsey didn't want or need a man in her life to try and run it again, but Jason could be different if she let him in.

Tropic of Trouble is full of action, adventure and suspense. Not a dull moment as secrets are unveiled, a killer is on the prowl and will stop at nothing to get what they want, and the sizzling heat between Kelsey and Jason gets hotter and hotter by the page. It's a page turner!

Can't get enough romantic suspense? Try Tropic of Trouble from Wynter Daniels. It's hot!

Roberta Gellis, Alinor

Title: Alinor

Author: Roberta Gellis

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Historical Romance

Keywords: Medieval, Blush

Length: Super Plus-Size Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419931642

Price: $7.99

ISBN for Print:

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9085-alinor.aspx

Reviewer: Rhonda J Callum-King

Blurb/Summary:

Roselynde Chronicles, Book Two

Now alone, despite her exquisite beauty, Lady Alinor is physically and emotionally deprived of love—until her amorous desires are stirred by the dark, sensuous Lord Ian de Vipont. Trapped in a maze of treacherous power plays and volatile liaisons, she is irresistibly swept into an intoxicating passion for a man whose forbidden love promises only pain and peril. A strong-willed woman desperate in her quest for love,Alinor will not heed even the most torturous obstacles in her path.

From the brutal battlegrounds of France to the rich pageantry of English courts, Alinor’s turbulent adventures and romantic passions weave a breathtaking tale of danger and desire.

Publisher’s Note: Previously published elsewhere.

Review:

Alinor by Roberta Gellis is a unique view of the courts and life in England during the rule of the infamous King John, Lackland. While this book is promoted as a passionate romance, I believe it should be seen more as an historical novel with some romance woven into it. This in no way detracts from the tale of the Lady Alinor and Sir Ian. However, Alinor is more the story of the English courts and politics during the rule of King John, Lackland.

In Roberta Gellis’ novel, the premise is taken that King John was actually a very astute and intelligent ruler. In the many versions of Robin Hood, Prince John is often seen as a usurper who only wants tax monies. Here, in Alinor, he is portrayed as a king who was left a bankrupt kingdom and while still rather lecherous, was certainly not the worst that England had to offer at the time.

The romantic scenes between Alinor and Ian are few and far between. What fills the pages of Alinor is the pageantry, deceitfulness and corruption of the English courts during the rules of Kings Richard and John. This is a story of knights, bandits in the woods and licentious court followers. Roberta Gellis has created a love story of the ilk of Robin Hood, set just a few years later, under the rule of the loathsome King John. Read Alinor if you are looking for a story along the lines of the Sherwood Forest tales and you will be pleased.

Monday, March 21, 2011

Kendall Grace, Southern Exposure

Title: Southern Exposure

Author: Kendall Grace

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Length: Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419932816

Price: $5.95

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9074-southern-exposure.aspx

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

A quick trip to visit her hospitalized mother is lasting longer than Anna had expected. About twelve weeks longer. It’s not that she isn’t used to taking care of her mom—Anna took over that job when her father died—but it’s a little stressful vying for partnership in her New York law firm from Liberty, Alabama. Fortunately the neighbor, a hot Southern charmer, is willing to help her take the edge off.

Since Trey breached her defenses, he and Anna have been burning up the sheets…and the side of the house…and the garden. The woman he’s coming to know is a far cry from the uptight lawyer he first met. And he likes the new Anna. A lot.

As her feelings for Trey deepen, Anna is torn between duty and desire…what she wants versus what she thinks she needs. Returning to New York, reverting to the formidable attorney her father molded, is the responsible thing to do.

Too bad that’s not the woman Trey wants…

Review:

The last thing Anna expected when she made it to her mother's house was a sexy man waiting to greet her. After a long flight and thinking about her mother being in the hospital, it was a shock to find Trey in the house. Just what was his relationship to her mother?

In Liberty, Alabama, it's a different life here. A far cry from the major streets of New York. Trey is a neighbor and keeps an eye out on Anna's mom. And now that Anna is back, even if it's temporarily, her mother has plans to hopefully keep Anna here, where she belongs.

Southern Exposure is a heart-warming novel, full of erotic love scenes and numerous, witty dialogue. Readers will be charmed by Trey and rooting for his happily ever after with Anna. Kendall Grace creates a homey little small town that welcomes new friends, so go make yourself comfortable.

I highly enjoyed this and will be looking for more titles by this author in the future.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Evanne Lorraine, A Taste of Scarlet

Title: A Taste of Scarlet

Author: Evanne Lorraine

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Sub-Genre: BDSM

Keywords: BBW, Shape-Shifter, Werewolves, Spanking, Bondage

Length: Short Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60737-925-6

Price: $5.99

Publisher: Loose Id

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/A-Taste-of-Scarlet.aspx

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:

A rare Omega wolf with the gift of healing, Scarlet underwent her first shift to werewolf form while held captive by a pack of rogue Alphas. The abuse shattered her connection with her inner bitch and left her with a severe Alpha-phobia. A broken wolf link put her out of the mating game. But determined to serve a pack in need of her healing, she searches for the legendary werewolf whisperer on the chance he can work the miracle she needs.

Once he roamed North America guiding the broken wolves back to wholeness, but Daniel nearly lost his humanity the last time he tracked a rogue. Escaping from the whisperer business, he spent months in his true werewolf form. Now he’s the lone wolf sheriff in sleepy Cedar Grove. He likes peace and quiet in his territory, same as any good law officer, and the new redhead in town is pure trouble.

Two seconds after they meet, she's disturbing the hell out of his peace. She’s a pack princess and he's not interested in a pack sanctioned mating. Been there, done that, and still paying through the nose for the mistake. Leaving her alone is the right choice, but he can't deny that she smells delicious.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Anal play/intercourse, BDSM theme and elements.

Review:

When we first meet Scarlet she has already suffered a trauma that has yet to be explained. However, her scared and timid nature in the beginning leads us to believe it was something quite awful. I assure you that it is awful, but the way it is written the trauma is downplayed and we don’t find out why until the very end of the story.

Daniel enters the story early on and he seems kind and funny. He tries so hard to put Scarlet at ease that it’s hard not to find him endearing. We soon find out that he has his own issues that are holding him back.

It is quite clear from the start that Scarlet and Daniel have wonderful chemistry together. Their love scenes are erotic and hot. Daniel is a great alpha male with a penchant for bondage. This was a little different though because the bondage is almost inherent and tied directly to the alpha and submissive wolf relationship. In any case, the bondage adds spice to the story.

Scarlet and Daniel share chemistry, but unfortunately for them their communication is horrid. Poor communication with one another helps the plot line along and keeps everyone off balance. Add to the mix that Scarlet has damaged self-esteem that keeps her from seeing her own worth and how much Daniel values her and it almost spells disaster. Despite the trauma, issues, chemistry, and poor communication, Scarlet and Daniel share a bond that might just save them both.

In the midst of all the turmoil there is Harrison, the vampire. He is a wonderful character that offers some comical relief. Harrison leaves in his wake a lot of questions and he probably has a very interesting story.

Based on, A Taste of Scarlet, I would read other stories by Evanne Lorraine.