Thursday, August 25, 2011

Laurann Dohner, Fury

Title: Fury

Author: Laurann Dohner

Rating: Siren's Best Book Stone

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Keywords: New Species Series

Length: Super-Plus Size Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419935954

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9480-fury.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Book 1 in the New Species series.

Ellie is horrified to discover the pharmaceutical company she works for is doing illegal experiments. Company scientists have spliced human and animal DNA, creating exotic new species. One such “experiment” captures her heart and she’ll do anything to save him—even if he hates her for it.

Fury has never known compassion or love. He’s spent his life in a cell, chained and abused by humans. The one woman he allowed himself to trust betrayed him. Now he’s free and set on vengeance. He vows to end her life but when she’s finally in his grasp, harming her is the last thing he wants to do to the sexy little human.

Fury can’t resist Ellie—the touch of her hands, her mouth on his skin, her body wrapped around his. He’s obsessed with the scent of his woman. And Ellie wants Fury—always has. She craves his big, powerful body and wants to heal his desolate heart.

But loving Fury is one thing…taming him is another.

Reader Advisory: This story contains the heartrending aftermath of a rape scene involving a captive male. Another scene involves capture and forced touching by a hurt, vengeful Fury.

Review:

New Species: Fury by Laurann Dohner took me into the lives of a brand new mixed breed of men and women. Laurann Dohner laid the ground work splendidly with this first read. I was introduced to a fierce woman Ellie, a human who at great cost to herself committed both a heart wrenching crime and at the same time saved the life of someone she grew to care for.

Her fierce spirit and sassy ways fit perfectly with Fury. Their path was filled with obstacles at every turn and kept me on edge waiting to see what would happen after turning the page. The intimacy blew me away. Primal and loving at the same time it had me sighing in pleasure. As the plot thickened and a conspiracy popped up, I prayed they’d find a way to survive the hatred surrounding them. I immensely enjoyed the female species and all of the secondary characters and their interaction with this explosive couple. I can’t wait for the next in this series and hope to be able to read it soon. Fury is a must read.

Claire Ashgrove, Waiting For Yes

Title: Waiting For Yes

Author: Claire Ashgrove

Rating: Four And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Keywords: Champagne Rose, Spicy

Page Count: 380

ISBN E-Book: 1-60154-910-5

Price: $7.00

ISBN for Print: 978-1601549105

Price: $15.99

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=175_133&products_id=4468

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

Gabrielle Warrenton gave up everything to pursue her dream of a first-class Egyptian Arabian breeding farm. Her future lies in her new stallion’s success. Though she possesses an exceptional eye for horseflesh, she lacks the training knowledge, and Bahadur Mamoon has a date with the nation’s most affluent show in three weeks. Nothing that would present a problem given his previous credentials. Only, the sellers disguised one critical fact—he’s crazy.

Jake Lindsey-Sullivan was once part of an exceptional Arabian training team. Under his mother’s guidance, he developed an instinctual talent, but she was the star, the cornerstone of his life. Until she met a premature death. Grief-stricken and plagued by guilt, Jake abandoned the world of horses. Now an over-the-road truck driver, he evades the memories.

When a snowstorm throws two Arabian professionals into close-quarters, they discover an engulfing passion. But will Mamoon rip open emotional scars, or forever seal them shut?

Review:

A snowstorm, two people trying to move on with their lives, and horses. I'd say that's an awesome combination for a tender and charming romance. Waiting For Yes tugs on the heart strings of readers, I know it did mine. Gabrielle and Jake's story will warm its way into your mind and body, the gripping pace and emotion will grab hold from the start and take the reader on a journey, and the greatness doesn't stop until the very last page. Claire Ashgrove writes with passion and excellence. The way this author captures the very essence of love is astounding and I enjoyed this story.

Do you love contemporaries? Like stories that have a theme to do with horses? Don't miss Waiting For Yes.

Vonnie Davis, Storm's Interlude

Title: Storm's Interlude

Author: Vonnie Davis

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Keywords: Champagne Rose, Spicy

Page Count: 314

ISBN E-Book: 1-60154-935-0

Price: $7.00

ISBN for Print: 978-1601549358

Price: $14.99

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=175_133&products_id=4558

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

Nurse Rachel Dennison comes to Texas determined to prepare her new patient for a second round of chemo. What she isn’t counting on is her patient’s twin brother, Storm Masterson. Despite her initial attraction, Storm has two things Rachel can’t abide: a domineering personality and a fiancée.

Half Native American, with the ability to have "vision dreams," Storm dreams about Rachel for three nights before her arrival. Both are unprepared for the firestorm of emotions their first encounter ignites.

Ultimately, it is Rachel’s past—and abusive, maniacal ex-boyfriend—that threatens to keep them apart…and Storm’s dreams that bring them together again.

Review:

Readers, prepare yourselves for a breathtaking emotional journey. Storm's Interlude is simply a book you should not miss. The characters are well crafted and I fell in love with Storm, Rachel, Sunny, Sawyer, and so many more. Vonnie Davis' writing is tender, witty and beautiful. I devoured each page, but didn't want the story to end because it's so powerful.

Storm is a great hero. Though he's had a rough past, he is now surrounded by family who loves him. He worries greatly about his ill sister and her son. His fiancée is a spoiled pain in the butt, and her stunts that keep Rachel running drove me nuts. But of course, that's what makes a story do so well; when you can love the great characters and feel anger and frustration towards the not so nice ones.

Simply put, this is a wonderful contemporary romance. I can't wait to read other books by Vonnie Davis. Storm's Interlude is most definitely a keeper, a book I can turn to again and again for an emotional comfort. I highly recommend this story if you enjoy contemporary romances full of heart.

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Kathleen Mix, River of Fear

Title: River of Fear

Author: Kathleen Mix

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Keywords: Crimson Rose, Spicy

Page Count: 314

ISBN E-Book: 1-60154-942-3

Price: $6.75

ISBN for Print: 978-1601549426

Price: $14.99

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=137&products_id=4566

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

After ten years shouldering heavy responsibility as her siblings’ guardian, fern farmer Annie Brenton yearns for an exciting and carefree future. Despite the repeated threats of a stalker, she refuses to cower in her house and compromise her long-awaited freedom.

When widower Luke Erickson and his two young children turn to Annie for help and she takes them into her home, she believes her financial worries and stalker problems are solved. Instead, the stalker ratchets up his violence, and her developing feelings for Luke turn her world upside down.

As Luke's past suddenly catches up to them, Annie is forced to make an impossible choice. Is loving a wandering sailor and his children worth the sacrifice of her freedom and the risk of a broken heart?

Review:

River of Fear is both character and plot driven, with plenty of twists and turns to keep a reader engaged. I most definitely was. I prepared myself for a romantic suspense, but River of Fear is so much more. Not only does it have its suspense factor, but I was so caught up in the characters that I forgot about everything else around me. I knew Annie and Luke had their secrets, and I was drawn to Luke’s two wonderful children. This story is about second chances, finding love when you least expect it, and learning to trust when everyone else seems to have turned their back on you.

This is my first time reading a Kathleen Mix book, but It won't be the last. I am going to be keeping an eye out for more titles by this talented author. This is the kind of book that gave me chills, and with every little creak and thud I heard, I gasped out loud. I love the kind of books that give me chills at night. This was one of them.

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Barbara Weitz, Teed Up For Love

Title: Teed Up For Love

Author: Barbara Weitz

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Sub-Genre: Romantic Comedy

Keywords: Champagne Rose

Page Count: 264

ISBN E-Book: 1-60154-904-0

Price: $6.25

ISBN for Print: 978-1601549044

Price: $12.99

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=89_120&products_id=4505

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

A WORKING GIRL JUST HAS TO BLOW HER LID...

Using her quick wit and take-charge attitude, Miranda Stiltgaard lands a marketing job for Stuart Golf Enterprises in Chicago determined to prove a well-educated girl raised in a small Alaskan town can succeed in a big city.

WHEN ACCUSED OF A CRIME SHE DIDN'T DO...

Embezzlement of company funds sends aloof London bachelor, Keegan Stuart, roaring into Chicago to ferret out a thief and protect the family business.

THEN RISKS HEARTBREAK TO BOOT...

Miranda hates that this unreadable Brit sees her as a backwoods frontierswoman dragging bear home for dinner. Or that she's capable of a crime. But if it's a fight he wants, she'll show him how it's done. Never does Keegan expect a woman of fortitude to rock his resolve and steal his heart...a heart he doesn't intend to lose.

Review:

Quirky characters, witty dialogue, and plenty of plot that keeps the story racing, Teed Up For Love is a great romance. There are plenty of great scenes that will be sure to get a chuckle out of you, and plenty of sizzling sexual tension. You think it's hot outside, wait until the sparks between the leading characters heat you up even more.

Written in the first person, this book is a great contemporary comedy. I enjoyed Miranda. She's a blast, with her stubborn streak and with everything she does. And Keegan is mysterious and hot, the way a hero should be.

If you enjoy contemporaries, then don't miss Teed Up For Love.

Emma McKee, Family Business

Title: Family Business

Author: Emma McKee

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Keywords: Crimson Rosebud, Spicy

Page Count: 232

ISBN E-Book: d5355

Price: $5.50

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Buy-Link: http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=137&products_id=4569

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

Cat-sitting her great-aunt’s finicky feline offers Nora Bainbridge a rare opportunity to delve into the secrets of the reclusive actress’s younger years. And when a sexy television producer shows up, proposing an episode of Hollywood’s Hottest History based on Aunt Elnora’s off-screen involvement with the mob in Tinseltown, the past starts looking a lot more interesting.

Raised on a steady diet of 1940s films by his mob boss grandfather, the only upside FBI agent Luke McKinnon can see in his current undercover assignment is he’ll get to meet one of the film stars he reveres. The downside is he’s looking for something he doesn’t want to find—evidence that Elnora Bainbridge is involved in trafficking stolen art. A totally unexpected perk is discovering Elnora has a look-alike namesake whose curiosity about her aunt’s wild life drags them into a lot of Family Business.

Review:

All she was supposed to do was stay at her aunts, keep an eye on the house, and her pit. That's it. But the moment she stepped foot into the house, Nora's life suddenly got more...interesting.

In Family Business, get ready for a sexy, fun adventure. The book is filled with mystery and intrigue, plus fireworks between an undercover hero and a heroine who looks so much like her aunt it is her namesake. Could Nora's great-aunt really have done some of the things Luke accuses her of? Well, the pair seems intent on delving into to family secrets to find out.

This is an enjoyable suspenseful read. I was guessing until the end. The witty characters drew me in, and I didn't find a dull moment in this story. Looking for a great suspense and romantic read? Look no further than Family Business.

Doreen Orsini, Undeniable

Title: Undeniable

Author: Doreen Orsini

Rating: Four And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Keywords: Vampires

Length: Super-Plus Size Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419933790

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9418-undeniable.aspx

Reviewer: Rhonda Callum-King

Blurb/Summary:

The vampires of Mina’s Cove have passed sentence. The vampire hunter’s daughter will pay for his crimes by becoming the very creature he hunts. Chosen to pass a drop of his blood then deny her, Sebastian is warned that Diana may be the one luring vampires into her father’s trap.

After one night, Sebastian realizes he would follow Diana into the light of dawn for just one more kiss…one more touch…one more taste. How can he refuse to sate her hunger when he’s grown addicted to her sweet blood and body? How can he destroy the woman he doubts even knows about her father’s crimes, the woman born to be his forever?

Diana believes she’s finally found her soul mate. But Sebastian only comes to her after the sun sets. A dark phantom she cannot resist. A lover whose scorching kisses sate a hunger that nearly drives her mad. She’d offer her body and soul to him, she’d tell him anything…except her father’s secrets.

Publisher’s Note: This story was previously published elsewhere under the title Hunting Diana.

Review:

Undeniable by Doreen Orsini is a true page turner. From start to finish, this book will keep the reader fully engaged. The vampires created by Mina and Dracula have found a peaceful place to live for many years. But now a vampire hunter stalks them, caging them out the sun to burn. The vampires have decided to fight back after the recent death of a beloved son. They vote and decide to send Sebastian, protector of the innocent to infect the vampire hunters’ daughter with a drop of his blood and turn her into a mindless monster.

Sebastian decides however, against his mother's wishes, to follow the daughter, Diana, and see if she actually is her father's accomplice in the deaths of his brethren. As he follows her, he comes to realize she doesn't even believe in vampires and must be innocent. Diana may even be his life mate, who he has been looking for for centuries. This does not please his mother, Olympia, because she has ulterior motives. Olympia uses a young and malleable vampire to stage the scene in regards to Diana and confuse Sebastian into choosing wrong and destroying his future life mate.

Will Sebastian choose wrong? Why does Olympia harbour such hate that she would destroy her own son? Is she even sane? These are all questions that will keep you turning the pages of this story until the wee hours of the night. Undeniable is a very enjoyable read!

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Kaitlin Maitland, Crescendo

Title: Crescendo

Author: Kaitlin Maitland

Rating: Siren's Best Book Stone

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Keywords: Ménage , M/M/F, M/M, Graphic Language

Length: Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-61118-457-0

Price: $6.99

Publisher: Loose Id

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/Crescendo.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Leslie has no use for long term attachments. She’s seen firsthand how fickle love can be. Better to keep things casual and walk away before someone else hurts you. Even when walking away leaves a wound that won’t heal.

Seth and Joshua are the two most successful Family Law attorneys in Boston. But their job can’t fill the void in their lives. Linked together by a lifetime of shared abuse and neglect, they want a woman who can complete their relationship, both in and out of the bedroom.

A legal issue leaves Leslie with nowhere else to turn and she strikes a devil’s bargain with the two sexiest lawyers in Boston. But her resolution to keep things light crumbles when their passion overflows the bedroom. When the past comes knocking, Leslie must choose retreat or the chance of a lifetime. In the end, she can only hope the crescendo leads to an encore.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Anal play/intercourse, male/male sexual practices, ménage (m/m/f).

Review:

Crescendo by Kaitlin Maitland took me into the lives of three individuals who shielded their hearts by remaining aloof in their love lives. Seth and Joshua are a breath stealing duo who would leave any woman breathless. Both men have different traits but possess the same need to protect. Sometimes in a way that is detrimental to them. I loved Seth’s take charge attitude and his sheer presence, and equally loved Joshua’s more even keeled attitude.

Leslie’s betrayal made tears prick my eyes and the sheer magnitude of why she hid finally made sense. In fact, I was pleased to see that her passion led her to the perfect men to protect and help her. I admired her selfless-ness and realized it was also her greatest weakness. I wanted her to clobber the woman trying to take what was hers, but mostly wanted to see the three of them succeed in a loving healthy…normal relationship with each other. The passion made me sweat and long to be the heroine on many occurrences. I’ll love reading this again and again.

Lelani Black, Going Greek

Title: Going Greek

Author: Lelani Black

Rating: Three And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: Erotic Contemporary

Keywords: Scarlet Miniature Rose

Page Count: 127

ISBN E-Book: d5957

Price: $3.75

Publisher: The Wilder Roses

Buy-Link: http://www.wilderroses.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=87&products_id=832

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Lingerie model Marigold Laurent arrives in Greece for a much-needed vacation from work and the sweet-talking man who broke her heart. Fate and the machinations of her well-meaning sister ensure that she collide with tall, dark and luscious Dmitri Damianos, forcing her no-men policy right out the window. But can he give her more than one-and-done?

Wealthy entrepreneur, Dmitri, guards his emotions well. And while he wants everything Marigold has to offer--beauty, wit, charm, and the best sex of his life--he can't give her what she really needs. But when the red-hot beauty climbs out of his bed and possibly out of his life, can he let her go?

Review:

Going Greek by Lelani Black took place in a mesmerizing setting. I immediately loved the sisterly banter that flew between Marigold and Jasmine. When Jasmine and Stravos are otherwise occupied, Marigold is left in solitude to make sense of her life and what’s led her to her current state of affairs. Stravos’ brother Dmitri affects her on a level she’s not ready for. She thinks she wants a commitment and he’s only willing to give her a small piece of himself.

I thought the story was charming. The pacing felt off for a love story that was filled with more fantasies than actual bond building and non-consistent communication that comes with a loving and nurturing relationship. While the sex was red hot and I loved every part of it. I didn’t feel that anything was showed more than a fleeting physical attraction between the two. Maybe if there’d been deeper layers with the two of them I would have. Still it was a nice read to sit back and enjoy. I just wish I’d gotten to know what made Dmitri tick and more into the personality of Marigold that wasn’t tied into her ex.


Elle Aycart, More than Meets the Ink

Title: More than Meets the Ink

Author: Elle Aycart

Rating: Siren's Best Book Stone

Genre: Erotic Contemporary

Keywords: Graphic Language

Length: Novel Plus

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-61118-431-0

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Loose Id

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/More-than-Meets-the-Ink.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Wickedly sexy James Bowen is a bad boy of the highest order -- tattoos and attitude included -- which unfortunately ranks way up on Tate’s not-a-chance-in-hell list, right there along with skydiving naked over Teheran and juggling Ebola vials just for kicks. But what the heck, she’s on holiday, the guy is absolutely irresistible, and she needs to unplug from her life. With her dad and brother gone, Tate is left to deal with the family restaurant, which is fast going down the drain. Her employees are acting out, her boyfriend has bailed out, and her very own private stalker is emailing her to death with lovely threats of doom, fire, and dismemberment. So yeah, maybe a little holiday fling is in order. Strictly sex though, and no follow-up whatsoever once.

She hadn’t counted on her take-charge holiday fling having an opinion of his own and stubbornly sticking around, beforeand after the sex, making himself at home in her life. There is definitely more to James than meets her prejudiced eye, and even if she's not ready to look deeper, James isn't prepared to permit her not to.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content and graphic language.

Review:

More than Meets the Ink by Elle Aycart was one of the best stories I’ve read all summer. I enjoyed the opening of the story and how it eased me into the Heroine’s crazy life. Tate made me laugh. Her Mom and James’ dad and the cats brought a smile to my lips, and two grownups trying harder than hell to find some private time. The smile, that took a good portion of the book to fade. It was in that second part that the layers of how Tate ended up taking over the family business that showed me the deeper depths of the heroine and how she functioned on autopilot. I empathized with Tate and with James and hoped she’d take the offered olive branch.

James really made an impression on me. Underneath the sexy exterior lay a perfect gentleman. After the passion when Tate was in need of a strong shoulder he stepped to the plate unbidden and offered his help. His intelligence and giving nature proved not to judge a man on his appearance.

Cerise DeLand, Strong Arms of the Law

Title: Strong Arms of the Law

Author: Cerise DeLand

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Western Romance

Keywords: Texas Ranger

Length: Novella

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419934735

Price: $4.45

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9414-strong-arms-of-the-law.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Rex Martinez is one tough Texas Ranger who’s always gotten his man. No woman has ever resisted him either. But the saucy little number currently under his protection makes him nuts. Makes him hard. And makes him eager to put her in her place…which is, of course, in his arms. And his bed.

Crime writer Skye Chamberlain chafes under Rex’s rigid rules. He’s too macho, too yummy to stay cooped up with while she’s trying to remain celibate.

When Skye calls his bluff and demands they embrace their relationship now instead of later, Rex can’t resist. But his need to keep her hot and happy makes him drop his guard—which is exactly when trouble comes calling.

Review:

Strong Arms of the Law by Cerice DeLand captivated my attention from page one. Tension between Rex and Skye leapt from the pages. I witnessed Rex fight with his work ethic and raw physical need front and present. Skye didn’t make things easy for him. He didn’t stand a chance when it came to her brazen desire. I loved that about her; she couldn’t handle the atmosphere and called it like she saw. Why fight the need.

As the story progressed the fire didn’t die down but blazed and when the villains appeared and all hell broke loose, I feared that Rex would distance himself and turn back into the rugged protector instead of the flesh and blood man I sure didn’t mind getting to know. What a perfect match the two of them. In the end I was an extremely satisfied woman.

Ann Jacobs, Imperfect Partners

Title: Imperfect Partners

Author: Ann Jacobs

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: BDSM

Sub-Genre: Science Fiction

Keywords: Pleasure Partners Series, M/M

Length: Novella

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419932434

Price: $4.45

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9423-imperfect-partners.aspx

Reviewer: Cia

Blurb/Summary:

Book 4 in the Pleasure Partners series.

Mutilated and exiled from Earth because he helped his brother, former Star Commander Conan finds himself on the Pleasure Planet, Obsidion. Broken and humiliated, he dons the white robe that signifies his new status of complete eunuch—until a famed cyborg and sexbot maker restores his manhood with a large, unique…colorful appendage.

The friends who rescued Conan have found him a mate, Nebula. She, too, knows shame and the pitying stares of others, because she carries the dreaded mutant gene. She was sterilized by order of Earth Federation.

Nebula craves the touch of a real man, but thinks it is forever denied her. Conan is more than ready to satisfy her desires with his new bionic equipment, but he fears rejection. Two damaged people, yearning for what they have lost, seek fulfillment in each other’s arms.

Publisher’s Note: The books in the Pleasure Partners series originally comprised the Luna Ten Chronicles and Obsidion Chronicles series, and were previously published elsewhere. Each story has evolved through extensive lengthening and revision for Ellora’s Cave to make for a consistent and hopefully enjoyable reading experience. This book was previously published under the title Nebula.

Reader Advisory: The residents of this world revel in the public sharing of nudity and sexual acts. There is also a brief, very hot male/male sexual encounter.

Review:

Imperfect Partners by Ann Jacobs gave me the story I’ve been waiting to read since the first three. It’s amazing how imperfections make us doubt the very core of ourselves. I was outraged that a government had the right to emasculate men and strip women of their femininity.

Conan and Nebula deserved to find each other and to find a way to heal from their emotional and physical trauma. I felt they mirrored each other well. Two halves of one soul and their passion and ability to move forward moved me. The bionic equipment was genius as was the creator as well as the hormone patches and Conan’s will to illegally transport them for his mate, so that she may enjoy what’s been denied her. I can’t wait for the next book in this fabulous series built with remarkable and unforgettable characters.

Monday, August 8, 2011

Mandy Monroe, Dark Haven

Title: Dark Haven

Author: Mandy Monroe

Rating: Four And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Keywords: Vampires, Werewolves, Cruise Ship, Ménage, Exhibitionism, Multiple Partners

Page Count: 202

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-60394-483-0

Price: $5.99

ISBN for Print: 978-1460938317

Price: $13.99

Publisher: New Concepts Publishing

Buy-Link: http://newconceptspublishing.com/mandy-monroe/dark-haven/

Reviewer: Stacey Krug

Blurb/Summary:

Trapped between two horny vampires and one lusty werewolf on a cruise ship with several hundred other weirdos that thought that they were vampires, Scarlett seriously considered jumping ship. Unfortunately, she hadn't discovered the truth about her fellow passengers until the ship was somewhere in the middle of the ocean. She decided she wouldn't have much success talking her way out of the sharks taking a bite out of her, but she would soon realize she wouldn't have much luck where the men were concerned either.

Multiple partners/heroes, group sex. Anal penetration, exhibitionism, oral sex, and forced seduction. NO male on male action.

Review:

Dark Haven by Mandy Monroe has intriguing characters that keep you interested and reading. Practical and logical, Scarlett really needed all three different men to help crack the shell around her heart so that she could start feeling.

Nico, Vincent, and Lazarus all have something unique to bring to the relationship and Scarlett in turn helps each of them. The men have all been on earth a while so they have seen a lot of evil and each has their own story. Scarlett is like a breath of fresh air long overdue.

The love scenes are steamy hot. This is a great paranormal/erotic romance story with a lot of imagination put into the characters and their backgrounds. It was a definite page turner that was hard to put down. I enjoyed the interaction between Scarlett and her three alpha males, as well as the interaction between the secondary characters and Scarlett. It wouldn’t be a great paranormal without some evil to overcome and Elizabeth couldn’t get too much worse if she tried.

I read the alternate version of the story that contained some male on male action and hinted at more. I think it was done very well and that the parameters of the relationship between the three men, before and after they met Scarlett, warranted a little male on male action to help understand how close they had all become over the centuries.

I really enjoyed this story. It was fun, sexy and had a good plot. I hope that Mandy Monroe will revisit these characters in the future.

Monday, August 1, 2011

Jami Davenport, Fourth and Goal

Title: Fourth and Goal

Author: Jami Davenport

Rating: Four And A Half Siren Stones

Genre: Erotic Contemporary

Keywords: Football Player, Graphic Language

Length: Novel Plus

ISBN E-Book: 978-1-61118-405-1

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Loose Id

Buy-Link: http://www.loose-id.com/Fourth-and-Goal.aspx

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

In a game played on and off the field, only one of them will emerge the winner.

Armed with an uncanny ability for evaluating football talent, a dogged determination to succeed in a man’s world, and an empty bank account, Rachel McCormick agrees to help struggling wide receiver Derek Ramsey get his game back. Rachel believes Derek, her former best friend and lover, knows the truth behind the points-shaving scandal which ruined her father. She vows to expose the secret even if it destroys Derek in the process.

When Derek’s coach suggests sex as an excellent tension reliever the night before a game, Rachel takes one for the team. The next day, Derek has the best performance of his not-so illustrious pro football career. As Derek and Rachel rack up nights in bed and other places, the team racks up wins on the field. Rachel is torn between her loyalty to her father and her growing affection for Derek.

Now it’s fourth and goal, one second left on the clock. Their hearts are on the line. Do they trust each other enough to go for the long bomb or do they get dropped for a loss?

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content and graphic language.

Review:

Derek is a football player, but his game seems to be off. Then Rachel comes back into his life, all grown up and looking sexy as ever. She's there to help, and Derek hopes that she's forgiven him for the mistakes he made in the past. The mistake that ruined their long-time friendship.

Now Rachel is helping him with his game. Who would have thought sex would get him back on his game? But he's concerned about what this physical relationship without any commitment or feelings will do to Rachel, even though he's feeling great and playing better than ever.

Oh yeah. Sexual conflict at its best. Derek and Rachel have a past history. Now their reunion has plenty of tension and conflict. Jami Davenport creates a well rounded story, full of lots of heart, scorching sex, and plenty of pacing to keep this story moving. I enjoyed this very much.

If you don't mind a contemporary romance on the erotic side, love sports romances, and are looking for a great read, don't miss Fourth and Goal. It'll have you wanting more from this author in a heartbeat!

Desiree Holt, Downstroke

Title: Downstroke

Author: Desiree Holt

Rating: Four Siren Stones

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Keywords: Country Star, Killer

Length: Plus-Size Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419932847

Price: $6.99

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9087-downstroke.aspx

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

It’s been twenty years since security specialist Charley Roper and country star Dallas Creed had their bitter parting. Now a killer has brought them together again, but neither is ready for a reunion—despite signs that their explosive chemistry hasn’t waned with time. She can’t forget the feel of his hands on her body. He can’t forget the hot touch of her mouth. When they finally tumble into bed, the sex is just as good as they remember, hot enough to singe the sheets. But is it enough?

Thrown together during an exhausting, frenzied concert tour, with a killer nipping at their heels, Dallas and Charley find themselves on a hot, suspenseful, erotic roller coaster ride. Can he convince her to trust her heart to him one more time, to reach out for a richer, deeper, more mature love?

More importantly—can Charley keep Dallas alive long enough for either of them to enjoy a second chance?

Review:

A thrilling and erotic romantic suspense! Desiree Holt creates another spell binding tale that weaves romance and thrills all into one. And it helps that it features a country singer 'Swoons'.

Holt always crafts her characters so well, and the sizzling suspense just gets hotter and hotter with the turn of each page. How this author creates story after story in such a short time is amazing, but I enjoy reading Holt's suspense very much.

If you like romantic suspense, steamy love scenes, and don't mind staying up all night to read then check out Downstroke. It's hot! Dallas and Charley's story will win the hearts of romance fans.

Kelly Jamieson, Breakaway

Title: Breakaway

Author: Kelly Jamieson

Rating: Five Siren Stones

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Keywords: School Teacher, Hockey Player

Length: Novel

ISBN E-Book: 978-1419933196

Price: $5.95

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Buy-Link: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9215-breakaway.aspx

Reviewer: Nikki

Blurb/Summary:

Jason and Remi want the same thing—no-strings-attached, screw-their-brains-out, burn-the-sheets-up fun. Pro hockey player Jason just broke up with his girlfriend because she got too serious. Schoolteacher Remi just saw the last of the younger siblings she raised leave the nest. Jace isn’t ready for responsibility. Remi’s had enough responsibility. They’re perfect playmates.

But fun and sexy games get complicated when emotions get involved. Then responsibility and commitment crash the party when Jason’s past comes back to haunt him. Like it or not, Jason and Remi both have to figure out what they really want.

Review:

Once again Kelly Jamieson pens another scorching but emotional romance. Breakaway is filled with great characters, hot sex, and of course, love. Jason and Remi start a fling just for fun, but who knew the feelings they would feel come rushing to the surface. But then, life gets in the way. The two must think about their future together despite the things they are most afraid of.

This is a wonderful book, and I enjoyed reading it. Remi is kind of a shy woman at first, she's just been able to live on her own after caring for her younger siblings, and that's when she meets Jason. She doesn't understand how he could be attracted to her, but she's lonely and he's a kind man.

If you enjoy contemporary romance filled with lots of real life situations, curl up with a copy of Breakaway and prepared to be drawn into this great novel.