Monday, October 1, 2018

Lara Adrian, Hour of Darness: A Hunter Legacy Novel, Volume 2

Title:  Hour of Darness: A Hunter Legacy Novel (Midnight Breed Hunter Legacy) Volume 2
Author:  Lara Adrian
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Breed, Breedmate, Russian Mafia, Midnight Breed Hunter Legacy Series, Hunter, Assassin
Page Count:  318                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services LLC
Price:  $4.99
ISBN Print:  978-1727535617
Price:  $12.45
Publisher:  Self-Published
Buy-Link:   https://www.amazon.com/Hour-Darkness-Hunter-Legacy-Midnight-ebook/dp/B07DFPC2J2/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1538432509&sr=8-2&keywords=lara+adrian+hour+of+darkness
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug  


Blurb/Summary:

Born and raised as an assassin in the notorious Hunter program, Breed vampire Cain has since put his specialized skills to use as a mercenary willing to clean up any problem for a price. Or so he thought. After a job in Las Vegas strains even his dubious code of honor, Cain pulls up stakes and lands in Miami for a much-needed break. All he wants is time away to clear his head and regroup, but then a beautiful young woman is nearly killed in front of his eyes and the ruthless former Hunter becomes the only thing standing between her and a sniper’s bullet.

Marina Moretskova is no stranger to dangerous men. As the niece of a Russian organized crime boss, she’s grown up around killers and criminals. But her uncle wants out now, and he’s enlisted Marina’s help in buying his freedom by delivering valuable intel to a secret contact in exchange for protection. Not even Marina’s bodyguards are aware of her mission, so when an attempt on her life is averted by a handsome, steely-eyed vampire, as grateful as she is for Cain’s intervention, the last thing she needs is the shrewd Breed male nosing around for answers. Cain’s cold, haunted gaze and merciless abilities attest to his brutal nature, yet the rough, solitary Hunter stirs a powerful longing in Marina—a darkly seductive hunger
—that she can neither afford nor resist. With a target on her back and covert enemies closing in from all sides, trust is a risk that can prove deadly . . . and the safest shelter she may find is in the arms of the most lethal man she’ll ever know.

New York Times bestselling author Lara Adrian returns with a pulse-pounding new novel in the thrilling Hunter Legacy series of vampire romances set in the darkly seductive Midnight Breed paranormal story world.


Review:

The Hunter Legacy stories are spin-offs of the Midnight Breed series, but they are standalone stories.  Hour of Darkness is the second volume in the Hunter Legacy series and was well worth the wait.

You can probably figure out from the synopsis above that Cain saves Marina early in the story.  We get both Cain’s and Marina’s history and back story as the plot moves along.  Two more lonely souls there could not be.  These characters will pull you in and have you emotionally involved.

Hour of Darkness is a fantastic story with intrigue and deceit around every corner.  Who can you trust?  Will Cain and Marina learn to trust each other before it’s too late?

Lara Adrian manages once again to write a story that keeps your head thinking and heart throbbing.  I highly recommend trying one of the Hunter Legacy books.  You will be hooked!

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Monday, September 24, 2018

Dakota Cassidy, Hit and Nun (Nun of Your Business Mysteries Book 2)

Title:  Hit and Nun (Nun of Your Business Mysteries Book 2)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Cozy Mystery, Paranormal Fiction
Keywords:  Demon, Owl, Nun, Possession, Tattoo Parlor, Murder
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services LLC
Price:  $4.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 


Blurb/Summary:

Sister Trixie Lavender here! After a rocky start (read: murdered landlord) to our arrival in Cobbler Cove, OR, things have finally slowed down. Er…mostly. My demon buddy Coop and I, along with our sassy talking owl Livingston, have settled nicely into our newly opened shop, Inkerbelle’s Tattoos.

We’ve met some awesome people, including new friends Higgs and Knuckles, and we’re forging friendships with our fellow business owners. And sure, we’ve had a few glitches (see Jeff), but we’ve found our groove, our clientele is growing, and everything’s pretty great.

That is, until Portland’s World Naked Bike Ride finds us smack dab in the middle of another murder mystery! Yep, you read that right. Naked people. On bikes. It ain’t pretty. And even less so when a dead, bare biker lands right on our doorstep.
But this ex-nun is prepared this time. There’s not going to be any fumbling-around-in-the-dark nonsense for this girl. No, sir. I’ve trained, sacrificed, studied…

Okay. Not true. I’ve binge-watched a lot of police shows on Netflix. But I’m armchair ready, if nothing else. So ready!
Now, if only the evil spirit possessing me would let me investigate in peace—and I don’t end up dead in the process.
Join me, Coop, Livingston, and Higgs for another Nun of Your Business Mystery!

Review:

If you like your mysteries and paranormal fiction without a lot of superfluous sex scenes, then look no further.  This is a fun mystery series involving an ex-nun that is possessed and her best friend Coop that is a demon from hell.  Each book has a plot line that plays out in full by the end of the book, and then there is the underlying plot that will keep readers coming back involving Trixie Lavender’s possession.

Hit and Nun brought out a different side of Trixie Lavender.  Ever the optimist and ready to forgive is the Trixie from book 1.  In book 2 we see the cynical and pessimistic Trixie come to the forefront.  Trixie wants to help her friend Knuckles, but there are so many obstacles set in front of her during her amateur investigation it leaves readers wondering if the truth will ever come out.

Of course, the obstacles come with danger attached.  I found myself wanting to yell at Trixie like you would yell at the characters in a horror film.  The plot twists will leave you frantic and wanting to read faster.  N0t to mention the overwhelming urge to go to confession there are so many lies to uncover in this story.    

Tune into this series now so you can journey with Trixie Lavender as she navigates her new secular status and all that it entails.   
 

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Friday, September 14, 2018

Dianna Love, Treoir Dragon Hoard, The Belador Series Book 10

Title:  Treoir Dragon Hoard, The Belador Series: Book 10  
Author:  Dianna Love
Rating:  Siren's Best Book Stone
Genre:  Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Fiction
Keywords:  Dragon, Skinwalker, Magic, Preternatural Beings, The Belador Series
Page Count:  317                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services
Price:  $4.99
ISBN Print:  978-1940651644
Price:  $14.99
Publisher:  Silver Hawk Press, LLC
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug  

Blurb/Summary:

New York Times Bestseller Dianna Love's Beladors are back with Evalle, Storm, the dragon king and allies, all ready to face a conflict no one saw coming. 

Two thousand years ago, someone stole the king's treasure from Daegan's father. An unexpected enemy uses this hoard to set Daegan on a path to his ultimate demise by dangling the one bait everyone knows the dragon king can't ignore--protecting one of his own.

While racing to help a friend, Evalle lands in a trap where she's given the unimaginable choice to either destroy her dragon king or condemn everyone she loves to die. Even her Skinwalker mate, Storm, has no way to track her this time.

Friendships and allies are tested as Atlanta erupts with preternatural exposure. Who will join Storm and Daegan to go where even a dragon has no chance of survival? With the enemy willing to gamble everything to take down Daegan, Evalle accepts her destiny, but on her terms. She never wants anyone to see what she's become, especially Storm.

Destiny is not a choice, but a summons. The hourglass favors no one.

Review:


The Belador Series keeps getting better and better.  Each book brings new layers of plots, sub-plots, and schemes to the forefront. Dianna Love knows how to weave a story into a series that can keep going with characters that are engaging both to the heart and mind.

Treoir Dragon Hoard is book 10 in The Belador Series.  We learn more about Daegan’s past and how it has shaped who he has become.  Lots of favorite characters are back on stage in this book as they come together and clash while trying to find their missing friend.  Will they be enough to overcome the evil they face?

Don’t miss reading this book.  There are plenty of surprises both good and bad that will keep you turning the pages late into the night.  I absolutely loved it!

Saturday, August 4, 2018

Dakota Cassidy, Then There Were Nun (Nun of Your Business Mysteries Book 1)

Title: Then There Were Nun (Nun of Your Business Mysteries Book 1)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy 
Rating: Five Siren Stones 
Genre:  Mystery, Paranormal Mystery
Keywords:  Demon, Nun, Owl, Possessed
Page Count:  252               
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services
Price:  $4.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 


Blurb/Summary:

My name is Sister Trixie Lavender, and I’m an occasionally possessed excommunicated nun.
Okay, that’s a lot to swallow at once. But it’s true I was booted from the convent after doing something unspeakable. Something I had no control over. Something that lives inside me to this day, exploding out like that chestburster in Alien when I least suspect it.
But I have help. My amazing friend Coop—the demon who saved me from an ugly end—remains by my side, loyal and true. She was Hell’s best tattoo artist back in the day, and together with my designs, we’re opening Inkerbelle’s Tattoos and Piercings, right in the heart of Portland’s most darling district, Cobbler Cove.
Of course, our bid to fit in would be a little less rocky if I could help Coop assimilate with humans, keep a lid on our sassy talking owl, Livingston…oh, and if someone hadn’t killed our landlord on day one—in our shop.
This mystery-loving, bumbling ex-nun and her trusty demon sidekick are on the case! If I don’t bumble my way right into my own demise first…

This new cozy mystery series from USA Today bestselling cozy mystery author Dakota Cassidy is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat as Trixie and Coop hunt for a killer. Then There Were Nun is book 1 in the all new, Nun of Your Business series.



Review:

This mystery had a little of everything.  The plot moves at a nice steady pace and keeps the reader intrigued and guessing.  The characters are funny and unique.  Dakota Cassidy is on her way to making another close-knit family community in her fictional North West town.

If you missed the debut of Sister Trixie Lavender, Coop, and Livingston in the last Witchless in Seattle book, don’t worry Dakota Cassidy has them all starting over in a new town together.  There are so many new characters to enjoy in the Nun of Your Business Mysteries series. Murder, mayhem, and new beginnings are part of the journey to the formation of Inkerbelle’s Tattoos.

Dakota Cassidy’s brand of humor is stamped all over Then There Were Nun.  Fans will be delighted. This book is a full story.  The ending is not a cliff-hanger rather a lead-in to the next story that sounds interesting.

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Monday, April 30, 2018

Dakota Cassidy, Good Witch Hunting (Witchless in Seattle, Book 7)

Title:  Good Witch Hunting (Witchless in Seattle, Book 7)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Cozy Mystery
Keywords:  Witch, Demon, Ex-Nun, Spy, Ghost, Cotton Bat, Owl, Turkey   
Page Count:  219               
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services
Price:  $4.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

Blurb/Summary:

What happens when an ex-witch/medium, an ex-nun, a demon, and a dead British spy meet?

Murder!!

After a really busy summer, things have settled down for my crew here in Ebenezer Falls. That is until my favorite Spy-Guy, Win has a crazy recollection of the night he was murdered!

His memory leads us to the new tattoo artist in town who just happens to be an ex-nun named Trixie Lavender. Sister Trixie has a gifted tattoo artist for a sidekick who just happens to be a demon straight from the bowels of Hell…

A demon who, coincidentally, is accused of murder, that is!

You know what that means—Stevie and gang to the rescue!

Witchless in Seattle Mysteries series by Dakota Cassidy
1. Witch Slapped
2. Quit Your Witchin'
3. Dewitched
4. The Old Witcheroo
5. How the Witch Stole Christmas
6. Ain't Love a Witch?
7. Good Witch Hunting



Review:

Dakota Cassidy does not disappoint with the long-awaited book 7 in the Witchless in Seattle series.  She delivers a fast-paced mystery with her beloved Ebenezer Falls characters.  Dakota Cassidy racks up the sexual/love tension between Stevie and Win leaving readers on the edge of their seats wanting more.

In Good Witch Hunting, we are introduced to two new characters that will be playing a major role in their own series very soon, Trixie Lavender and Coop.  They are entangled in a murder mystery and Stevie is caught up in the middle again.  Offering to help these two unlikely friends may be more trouble than even Stevie can handle. 

Readers won’t want to miss the debut of Trixie Lavender and Coop.  The ex-nun and demon are extremely entertaining.  This world just expanded with these new characters and I hope to see some more cross-over in the future.

The Witchless in Seattle series is best read in order.  It’s a fantastic cozy mystery series that I’m hoping will get a little naughty as we find out what is to become of Stevie and Win!

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Lara Adrian, Born Of Darkness: A Hunter Legacy Novel (Midnight Breed Hunter Legacy Book 1)

Title:  Born of Darkness: A Hunter Legacy Novel (Midnight Breed Hunter    Legacy Book 1)
Author:  Lara Adrian
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Breed, Vampire, Breedmate, Assassin, Hunter Program, Midnight Breed Series
Page Count:  314                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services
Price:  $4.99
ISBN Print:  978-1986803182
Price:  $11.69
Publisher:  Self-Published 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

 Blurb/Summary:

Book 1 in a brand-new Midnight Breed vampire romance spin-off series!

As a former assassin in the Hunter program, Asher is one of a small group of Gen One Breed vampires who survived the horrors of a madman's laboratory and the cruelty of the training that made him one of the most lethal beings in existence. Now, twenty years after his escape from those hellish origins, Asher is a loner whose heart is as cold as his skills are merciless. But when he thwarts a killing under way in the middle of the desert outside Las Vegas, Asher meets a beautiful woman who draws him into a deadly game against powerful enemies--one that will test both his skills and his tarnished honor.

Naomi Fallon is used to getting out of dicey situations. Orphaned as a child after her mother's murder, she didn't survive twenty-six years on the street without using up most of her nine lives. But when her latest caper lands her in the Mojave against a Vegas gangster's henchmen, she's certain her number is up. Then he appears--immense, brutal, and far from human. Naomi's never needed anyone's help, least of all one of the Breed. But after one risk too many, only a man with Asher's skills can keep her safe. Yet the solitary, seductively handsome vampire has enemies of his own, and a secret that will not only shatter her faith in him but her heart, proving what she's feared all along--that trust is only an illusion and love may be the sharpest weapon of all.

Review:

I loved this book.  Born of Darkness is a fantastic kick off book to the new Midnight Breed Hunter Legacy series.  Have you ever wondered what happened to all those Hunters that were freed by the Order?  Where did they go?  How did they integrate back into human and breed society?  What does a trained assassin do when he’s freed from captivity and how does he deal with the trauma of his past?

Now we start to get some answers!  We meet Asher and Naomi Fallon in this story.  Neither character has had an easy life and both have past traumas that they are enduring.  They are both strong, stubborn characters that readers will fall in love with. 

The plot moves along at a great pace letting readers get into the story and enjoy the characters.  Lara Adrian promises that some of the original Midnight Breed characters will make appearances in this series.  It will be fun to see them on stage with the new characters from the Hunter Legacy series, but if Asher is any indication of the new Hunters that we will meet, they can stand on their own.

If you’ve never picked up a Midnight Breed book don’t worry.  You can read this and the background information provided will bring you up to speed.  Fair warning that you will be intrigued and want to read the original series!

Sunday, February 4, 2018

Lara Adrian, Claimed In Shadows: A Midnight Breed Novel, Book 15

Title:  Claimed In Shadows: A Midnight Breed Novel, Book 15
Author:  Lara Adrian
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Breed, Vampires, Warrior, Day-Walker, War, Opus Nostrum, Midnight Breed Series, Breedmate  
Page Count:  312                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services
Price:  $4.99
Print Book: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN Print:  978-1984041852
Price:  $11.69
Publisher:  Self-Published 

Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

Blurb/Summary:

In this pulse-pounding new Midnight Breed vampire romance novel from New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Lara Adrian, passion explodes between a daywalking member of the Order and a fiery female warrior whose shadowy past will test the bonds of both duty and desire. 

As the son of a formidable Breed warrior, Aric Chase has been devoted to the Order all his life. With his training completed, all he needs is one successful mission before he can join the fight to destroy the Order’s chief nemesis, Opus Nostrum. His rare ability to daywalk lands Aric an assignment in Montreal, where he learns he’s to be teamed with another new recruit, a beautiful, but tough-as-nails Breedmate named Kaya Laurent.

Independent and driven, Kaya wants nothing more than to become a full-fledged member of the Order. Having grown up in squalor and neglect on the streets of Montreal, she longs for the close-knit family she’s found during her training to be a warrior. Eager to prove herself, she is thrilled to be given the chance at a key operation—even if she must share the mission with an arrogant, far-too-seductive Breed male who’s practically Order royalty.

Their unwanted partnership soon erupts into a desire neither of them can resist. But when Kaya’s past reaches out from the shadows to call her back, she must decide between protecting a dark alliance that could shatter her dreams of joining the team and a truth that could not only forfeit Aric’s faith in her, but bring the enemy right to the Order’s door.

Review:

Absolutely loved Claimed in Shadows, the latest novel in the Midnight Breed Series.  This book keeps you on the edge of your seat with non-stop action and plot twists that keep you guessing.

Kaya Laurent is a new Breedmate to the series and Aric Chase is the son of one of the original “Order” founders.  I won’t give anything away in the review, but know that you will find out in the book.  If you have read the previous books then this is not a surprise.

The war between the Order and Opus Nostrum is heating up and we see that clearly in this book.  The Breed are coming together and need to get ahead of the enemy before it’s too late.  Kaya Laurent and Aric Chase make a great addition to the Breed warriors and take center stage.

Kaya wants nothing more that to finally fit in somewhere.  Aric is not looking for anything as he breezes into town to do his job and move on.  The two clash and sparks fly. 

The plot and romance are entwined beautifully so that you don’t want to put the book down until you are done.  This is a wonderful addition to the Midnight Breed Series.

I received an ARC for an honest review. 

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Dianna Love, Mating A Grizzly: League of Gallize Shifters


Title:  Mating A Grizzly: League of Gallize Shifters
Author:  Dianna Love
Rating:  Five Siren Stones

Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Wolf Shifter, Grizzly Shifter, Polar Bear Shifter, Politics, Gallize Shifters 
Page Count:  297                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services
Price:  $2.99
ISBN Print:  978-1940651613
Price:  $11.93
Publisher:  Silver Hawk Press, LLC 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug  

Blurb/Summary:

Justin is an elite black ops warrior on a unique shifter team. He's as deadly as they come and determined to succeed on every mission. He turns into a monster grizzly and rushes into danger without hesitation to do his duty ... but he's having second thoughts on his current assignment. If there's one thing he can't tolerate it is arrogant people like the jerks he grew up around who believed they were superior to him. Now he's stuck playing bodyguard for a Russian shifter princess. He'd rather face down a pack of armed terrorists alone than spend time with a cold-hearted prima donna. Except, Elianna turns out to be unlike anything he expected. She's sexy and strong, but more than that - she might be the mate Justin never expected to find.  He'll have to stop an assassin trying to kill him and kidnap her for any hope of keeping her.  
 
Having lived her life as an outcast among her own kind, Elianna hates being called princess. She's the ugly mistake of a Russian grizzly shifter who got her polar bear mother pregnant while on a sabbatical from his mate. With the exception of the little boy she saved after his clan abandoned him, men are the bane of Elianna's life. When she makes a miscalculation under duress, her biological father coerces Elianna into accepting a deal with high stakes if she fails.  
 
Justin is unlike the male shifters she's ever been around. He makes her want things she can't have--like mating--because the deal she struck prevents a relationship with him or she'll never see the little boy again who is everything to her. Her plan was simple and doable, but meeting Justin complicated everything.

Review:

The League of Gallize Shifters series is fantastic!  Mating A Grizzly is the second book in the series and is full of action, heartrending emotion, and fun.  I absolutely loved the language barrier between Elianna and Justin that led to some funny and dangerous circumstances.

My heart went out to Elianna and Nico which speaks to the author’s ability to bring her characters to life.  Elianna is brought to life as a courageous and loyal person that perseveres through everything. 

Dianna Love also gave us the best sort of hero in Justin.  He tries to do what’s best for everyone even if it would hurt him in some way.  He is selfless, brave, smart, and courageous.  Justin was very easy to connect and love.

Elianna and Justin pack the pages with action, adventure, and romance.  I found their banter to be quite amusing.  You do not want to miss out on this fun story. 

I received an ARC for an honest review.