Sunday, November 3, 2019

Dakota Cassidy, Witch It Real Good (Witchless in Seattle Mysteries Book 10)

Releasing November 6, 2019

Title:  Witch It Real Good (Witchless in Seattle Mysteries Book 10)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Cozy Mystery
Keywords:  Witch, Spy, Ghost, Cotton Bat, Turkey, Dog, Reindeer
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services, LLC
Price:  $4.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug  

Blurb/Summary:

Stevie here, and I’m happy to report we’ve settled into our new lives and found a modicum of peace since our last death-defying incident.

Mostly…

My International Man of Mystery continues to lay low here in Ebenezer Falls until we can sort out his earthbound credentials, but we have a routine and as the holiday season begins, we’re ready to do a little celebrating. In the midst of us adjusting to life together, a surprise visitor shows up, knocking us both for a loop, but for two entirely different reasons.

To make matters worse, my good buddy, Officer Rigid…er, Dana Nelson, has some questions and we’re positive they have to do with Win’s involvement in what’s turned out to be a high-profile case in Seattle. That means we need to get the heck out of Dodge and we need to do it fast to buy ourselves some time to figure out our next move.

While we wrap our heads around our newest predicament in Maine in a beautiful little town that celebrates Christmas three hundred and sixty five days a year called Marshmallow Hollow, we run into bigger trouble than we left when someone tries to kill Win not once, but twice.

And that’s when Win’s past comes back to haunt him, putting us all in danger.

Out of the frying pan and into the fire we go!



Review:

Holy Cow!  Witch It Real Good was an adventure and delight to read that I couldn’t put down.  There are so many plot twists and answers in this book that I highly recommend reading the series in order.

Witch It Real Good takes readers on a journey to Marshmallow Hollow.  Stevie and Win are put to the test against unknown threats and Stevie comes through like a champ.  All her mini-spy training is paying off!

There are so many new secrets revealed in this book that all I can say is read it and read it fast!  According to Dakota Cassidy, readers will be taking more adventures in Marshmallow Hollow in 2020.

I highly recommend the Witchless in Seattle series.  It’s fun, the plots keep you guessing, and the characters are delightful.  Dakota Cassidy knows how to spin a tale and get readers to come back for more.

As usual, Renee George did a seriously amazing job on the cover art for Witch It Real Good.

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Monday, October 21, 2019

Dianna Love, Scent Of A Mate: League Of Gallize Shifters

Title:  Scent Of A Mate: League Of Gallize Shifters 
Author:  Dianna Love
Rating:  Five Siren Stones  
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Gallize Shifters, Tiger, Cougar, League of Gallize Shifters
Page Count: 278                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services LLC 
Price:  $2.99
Print ISBN: 978-1940651064
Price:  $13.99 
Publisher:  Silver Hawk Press LLC 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

 Blurb/Summary:

Gan never wanted to be a shifter and now he's got a monster Siberian Tiger inside of him. He's spent his whole life as a prisoner. This is no different. The minute he convinces the happens, Gan plans to vanish and live in a wilderness, leaving shifters behind forever, because he'll have control of the crazy tiger. He gets his chance at freedom by hiding the fact that his animal is still insane. All he has to do is keep his tiger buttoned down long enough to observe on a mission and pay back a debt he owes to a sexy cougar shifter. That might have worked perfectly if Gan's heart hadn't fallen victim to the female running the mission ... and if his tiger hadn't busted loose.

As a cougar shifter, Scarlett spends most of her days rescuing female shifters from predators. She has no intention of calling in the marker Gan owes her until she needs a rogue to help her save an innocent from powerful people she's avoided her whole life. Unlike the other Gallize, an angry Gan has no problem breaking a few rules, and she's seen the true man inside who will protect a vulnerable innocent. She had a sound plan, one that would cost only her if things went bad, until that crazy tiger shifter destroyed any hope of walking away from him. When Gan and Scarlett face impossible odds, each of them must put the one thing they hold most dear on the line to protect the other.

Review:

I loved Scarlett’s sassy inner beast.  Scarlett is serious and sticks to her plans which made, Chica, her cougar that much more comical.  Chica made me laugh out loud several times with her antics.

Gan and his tiger are constantly fighting for supremacy and have no idea how to work together as a team.  Gan spent most of his life as a slave and doesn’t want to be a slave to his beast or anyone else ever again.   

In Scent Of A Mate, Scarlett and Gan must work together to save the ones they love.  Neither one trusts easily, and Gan’s past traumas keep coming out in heartbreaking ways.  Dianna Love is a master at character development.  This book had me crying and laughing.

Each book in the League Of Gallize Shifters can be read as a stand alone, but you will encounter characters from previous books that will entice you to read them all.

I received and ARC for an honest review.

Wednesday, September 25, 2019

Dakota Cassidy, The Accidental Unicorn (Accidentally Paranormal Series Book 18)

Title:  The Accidental Unicorn (Accidentally Paranormal Series Book 18) 
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Unicorn, Goddesses, Werewolf, Demon, Vampire, Zombie, OOPs, Accidental Series
Page Count:  258                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services, LLC
Price:  $4.99
Publisher:  Self-Published 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

 Blurb/Summary:

Oliver Baldwin has a problem.
And it's a big one.
He has a unicorn horn. A unicorn horn that's pink and purple and shoots glitter everywhere.
Everywhere...
But that's not all it does.
So what's a guy who, out of nowhere, has a swirly horn sprout from his head to do?
He calls the ladies of OOPS and in the process gets a bird's eye view of a world he never knew existed.
The good news?
Oliver meets a woman named Vinnie who just might change his mind about never falling in love again.
The bad news?
It's really hard to find the time to get to know someone you think might be the woman of your dreams when you have crazy unicorn hunters hot on your tail, a handful of gods and goddesses who'd like nothing more than to hack your horn off for its special power...
Oh, and the threat of imminent death...

Review:

The Accidental Unicorn has all the OOPs ladies and their entourage helping Oliver deal with the alicorn protruding from his head. This story has meddling mothers and Goddesses causing no end of drama and trouble for the main characters Oliver and Vinnie.

Both Oliver and Vinnie have been burned in their past relationships.  Could this crazy situation with pink and purple glitter bring them together?  Can you form a relationship under stressful circumstances and expect it to last? Read this unique unicorn story and find out!

The story has a great plot that keeps moving. Plenty of action and cussing from Nina, and lots of animals and babies to keep everyone happy. Kudos to Katie Woods for the beautiful and whimsical cover art.

Not sure what’s left to turn accidentally, but I don’t think Dakota Cassidy did Big Foot yet! Can’t wait to find out what she comes up with next.

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Monday, August 19, 2019

Lara Adrian, Break the Day: A Midnight Breed Novel (Midnight Breed Series)

Title:  Break the Day: A Midnight Breed Novel (Midnight Breed Series)
Author:  Lara Adrian
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Breed, Vampire, Breedmate, Assassins, Daywalker
Page Count:  298                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services
Price:  $4.99
ISBN Print:  978-1084190375
Price:  $12.88
Publisher:  Self-Published 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 


Blurb/Summary:

After a shocking betrayal nearly killed him and the people he cares about the most, what Breed warrior Rafe wants more than anything is revenge against the insidious brotherhood called Opus Nostrum. But to achieve that goal, he must turn his back on the Order and infiltrate a dangerous gang with ties to Opus. Risking everything to redeem himself and carry out his deep-cover mission, Rafe will let nothing stand in his way--least of all his desire for one of the loyalists he should despise, a mysterious, dark-haired beauty named Devony Winters.
But Devony has secrets of her own to protect, as well as a personal duty she will do anything to fulfill. And as a daywalker passing herself off as human to the gang she's been embedded with for months, the last thing she needs is a dangerous former member of the Order unraveling all her hard work. Her plans depend on keeping Rafe at arm's length, but if she surrenders to the dark need he stirs within her, it will be her heart that pays the ultimate price.

Review:

Every time I pick up a book by Lara Adrian, I know I’m in for a treat.  Break the Day was no different.  Each book in the Midnight Breed Series can be read as a stand-alone book, but there is an underlying evil that permeates throughout each one connecting them.  Each book adds new characters and revisits some old ones moving their objectives forward in the war.

Rafe and Devony are thrown together while Rafe is working undercover.  They end up working together as an amazing team, and their steamy romance is off the charts.  Lara Adrian keeps readers guessing until the end as to how and when Rafe and Devony might be able to be together.  They have so many obstacles to overcome if their relationship is to move forward.

I really enjoyed Rafe and Devony’s journey.  These characters stay with you in your head long after the story is over.  I hope we see them again in future books. 

If you are looking for a full story with a HEA and no cliff-hangers, then give Break the Day a read.

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Friday, August 9, 2019

Witches Get Stitches (Witchless in Seattle Mysteries Book 9)

Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Genre:  Cozy Mystery
Rating: Siren's Best Book Stone
Keywords:  Witch, Spy, Ghost, Cotton Bat, Turkey, Dog,
Page Count:  242                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services, LLC
Price:  $4.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

Blurb/Summary:

When last we met, good people, the biggest wish I’ve ever made came to fruition. It didn’t happen without some help—okay, a lot of help. Either way, let’s just say the deed was done.

My outrageously handsome, smart, sometimes persnickety (read mostly persnickety) Spy Guy, Winterbottom, is finally here on earth with me, recuperating from his afterlife jaunt.

And I couldn’t be happier…

Sure, he can be a difficult patient. He’s forever bellowing my name from his sick bed. He likes his socks ironed and his toast cut in triangles, thank you very much. Add in the fact that some of the spells I've cast to make this dream a reality have had repercussions (an understatement), and it’s been sheer chaos.

But all tomfoolery aside, Win’s here with us, and I’m thrilled, as you can imagine.
Mostly.

So when it’s decided amongst my favorite men I should take a day for myself and hit Seattle for some much-needed shopping, I hesitantly head out.

And then I die. 

As you can imagine, it only goes downhill from there…

Review:

The last book was such an amazing and awesome adventure.  Dakota Cassidy knew exactly what needed to follow to keep her readers on edge and coming back.  The unexpected plot twist happens in chapter one and is in the book excerpt provided by the author, so I’m not giving anything away when I say Stevie dies.

What you can expect in Witches Get Stitches is some awesome spy guy time on stage.  Win takes the lead in trying to find out what happened to Stevie.  Keep in mind that Win is in recovery and only has a cotton bat and an Uber driver to help him.  Now you can begin to imagine the tom foolery that follows along with some heart-stopping stunts because Win is the ultimate “Spy Guy”.

I love this series!  The author does an incredible job of keeping each story fresh so that as a reader you can’t wait to open the next adventure.

Renee George does a seriously amazing job on the cover art for the Witchless in Seattle Mysteries series!

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

S.A. Bayne, The Demon You Trust (Magical Elite #1)

Title:  The Demon You Trust (Magical Elite #1)
Author:  S.A. Bayne
Rating:  Five Siren Stones  
Genre:  Paranormal Romance 
Keywords:  Half-Demon, Hell, Magical Elite, Magical Police, Magic
Page Count:  129                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services LLC
Price:  $3.97 
ISBN Print:  978-1940968766 
Price:  $7.97
Publisher:  Authenticity Playground, LLC 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

 Blurb/Summary:

If Ellie Locke dies, so does her sister, so when Ellie is murdered by a water god, it's a no-brainer to cheat death by accepting a deal from a stranger with the power to freeze time…until she discovers he has just set her up as a target for sociopathic serial killer with excellent magical skills.
Her only chance to survive her new job as an agent in a magical crime-fighting organization is her partner, a deliciously sexy half-demon who needs to stay alive as badly as she does. Neither of them has the magical ability to defeat a sociopath who has already killed seventy-six of their predecessors, but who needs skills when you have incentive?


Smoke, shadows, a hostile demon dad from the beyond, and highly paid assassins sent by her loving parents make things a little complicated for Ellie and her new partner, but what's a pair of breasts and an intimate moment for, if not to save themselves and the world?
And this is just the start. 

NOTE: Do you see the gold medallion on the cover? That means this book contains Super Secret Bonus Scenes, which are extremely cool and contain secrets you won't find anywhere else. 



Review:

I was completely engaged from the first page to the last page and didn’t want to put the story down.  The characters are endearing, and their chemistry is palpable.  The Demon You Trust is a fantastic start to a new series.  S.A. Bayne gave us a complete story to begin with, but so many unanswered questions that we will want to come back for more.  There is so much more to learn about Ellie and Jack.  I look forward to the next adventures of the Magical Elite team!

If you like hard-hitting action with humor, magic, some gore, and every super-hero’s weakness: a loved one, then this is a story to check out.  Don’t forget to read the bonus scenes!


I received an ARC for an honest review. 

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

S.A. Bayne, Immortally Cursed (Immortally Cursed #1)

Title:  Immortally Cursed (Immortally Cursed #1)
Author:  Stephanie Rowe writing as S.A. Bayne 
Rating:  Four Siren Stones 

Genre:  Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
Keywords:  Guardian, Dragon, Satan, Pretzel King, Curse, Goblet of Eternal Youth 
Page Count:  410                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services, LLC
Price:  $5.97
Publisher:  Authenticity Playground, LLC 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 


Blurb/Summary:

Justine Bennett's life isn't the one you'd want for all eternity, which is exactly how long she's going to have to live it. 

She's the sword-wielding Guardian for the Goblet of Eternal Youth, which is currently masquerading as a shape-shifting espresso machine in a fancy New York City condo. Being an immortal badass in the City that Never Sleeps sounds exciting, but Justine hasn't gotten to behead anyone in centuries, the celibacy oath she took two hundred years ago is getting to her, and her dead mom is being hotly pursued by a lovesick Satan. 

But then Derek LaValle, a no-carb pretzel mogul cursed to die in a week, shows up at Justine's door to behead her and steal the Goblet. If he fails, both he and his twin will succumb to the curse, so this handsome hunk of deliciousness is not going to let anything stop him. He's charming, tempting-as-hell, and extremely determined, all the things that Justine needs to amp up her life.

Unfortunately, if Justine makes even one mistake, her mom will end up as Satan's love pancake, and her own soul will be destined for an eternity in the Chamber of Unspeakable Horrors.

Derek, however, can't afford to fail either, which means one of them needs to die. But when high-octane attraction blooms between them, killing each other no longer seems like a fantastic option. With such high stakes, they better figure it out fast, or Satan dating her mom will become the least of their worries. 

About the Author: S.A. Bayne (aka Stephanie Rowe) is a gift to the universe, at least according to her dogs, and everyone knows dogs are world-class judges of people. She was taught to play by the rules, but after suffering numerous apoplectic breakdowns, she realized that she had to ditch the rules, figure out her own way to live, and then turn that into a high-octane, irreverent, unpredictable-as-hell paranormal romance that will make your day so much better just by reading it. And yes, she is also New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Stephanie Rowe, winner of the 2018 RITA Award for Best Paranormal Romance. Because she's nifty like that.

Review:

Immortally Cursed has a plot that keeps moving forward at a steady pace with tons of crazy obstacles being thrown at the main characters.  S.A. Bayne has given readers a new world to play in where immortality and magic abound.

There is plenty of slapstick humor that lightens the mood of our cursed hero and hunted heroine.  Both Derek LaValle and Justine Bennett light up the pages with their chemistry and crazy issues.  These characters put the “fun” in dysfunctional families.

If you are looking for something a little different in the fantasy/romance genre then give this a try.  S.A. Bayne gives you a complete story without any major cliff-hangers to be frustrated over.


I received an ARC for an honest review. 

Dianna Love, Evalle and Storm: The Belador Series, Book 10.5

Title:  Evalle and Storm: Belador Series Book 10.5
Author:  Dianna Love
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
Keywords:  Gryphon, Skinwalker, Beladors, The Belador Series
Page Count:  199                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services, LLC
Price:  $3.99
Publisher:  Silver Hawk Press, LLC 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 


Blurb/Summary:

New York Times bestseller Dianna Love's Beladors are back with a special story for Evalle and Storm!

This is the book fans have been waiting for - Evalle and Storm's. To bond or not to bond should be a simple question, but nothing is ever easy in the life of this particular Skinwalker and Belador couple.

Investigating a strange death in unfamiliar territory threatens to rip them apart forever as Storm tracks a predatory majik killing in the cruelest ways and Evalle makes a dangerous gamble to save what's left of her disappearing preternatural powers ... and herself.

Until he completes the mating bond with Evalle, Storm has no way to find her if she's kidnapped again and preternaturals are actively hunting her in a chaotic Atlanta. Word hasn't gotten out that she can no longer shift into a powerful gryphon. When Storm's estranged uncle in Arizona pleads for help in finding the cause behind a strange death on his tribe's reservation, Storm agrees to go just to get Evalle out of the city and somewhere safe. A good idea on paper, not so much when he confronts a predatory majik that attacks his.

Prior to surviving a brutal imprisonment, Evalle wanted nothing more than to bond with her Skinwalker mate to share their lives and energy. She cheated death upon escape only to discover she's lost he ability to shift into a gryphon and her powers are failing. Opening a connection with her Storm could destroy his as she discovers her body is going through new insurmountable changes. When she's offered a chance to bring her gryphon back, Evalle jumps at it, determined to heal herself and save her life with Storm. Too late, Storm realizes he's made a deadly mistake by bringing his mate with him.

Review:

Evalle and Storm’s relationship has never been what anyone could define as normal.  It never will be, but it works for them, little gargoyle and all.  These two are a couple of my favorite characters in the Belador world and it was so much fun to read a story dedicated to them.

We get to see more intimate moments that show how Storm and Evalle’s relationship has progressed.  This was also the perfect time to share their story before hard hitting Belador issues assail us in the future with human/Belador exposure and supernaturals screwing up in Atlanta, Georgia.

You will not want to miss how Evalle deals with the aftermath of her kidnapping and how Storm deals with her.  This is a fun story that highlights the evolution of Storm and Evalle’s relationship and provides us with Storm’s family background.  It will be interesting to see if Storm’s family is pulled into future conflicts with the Beladors.

I received an ARC for an honest review.

Thursday, April 25, 2019

Dakota Cassidy, The Smoking Nun (Nun of Your Business Mysteries Book 4)


Title:  The Smoking Nun (Nun of Your Business Mysteries Book 4)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy 
Rating:  Five Siren Stones 

Genre:  Cozy Mystery 
Keywords:  Ex-Nun, Nuns, Demons, Deacons, Priest, Demonic Owl, Demonic Dog, Cops, Ex-Cop
Page Count:  203                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services LLC
Price:  $4.99 
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug  


Blurb/Summary:

Sister Trixie Lavender, reporting for Miss Marple duty! It’s been months since the evil residing inside me has reared his violently helpful head, and things are pretty peachy. My demon sidekick Coop continues to assimilate with the unsuspecting humans, our tattoo shop is busier than ever, we’re more and more involved in our little community of Cobbler Cove…heck, I’d even begun to attend the occasional Sunday sermon (after safely confirming my body wouldn’t burst into flames upon entering Our Lady of Perpetual Grace, of course). Yep, life is pretty good for me and mine. 

Until the shocking murder of our new friend, Sister Ophelia, during a church-sponsored speed-dating event. Talk about flirting with death—literally. I can’t fathom who’d want to kill a sweet little ol’ nun, but as I’ve learned by now, life in small-town Oregon isn’t always what it seems. When a second corpse is found, the stakes are even higher as Coop and I, along with our good friend Higgs, race to unmask a killer.

But when my demon breaks free yet again, the killer’s not the only one in danger of being exposed… 



Review:

If you are looking for non-stop action in a cozy mystery with a story that is wrapped up by the end of the book, then The Smoking Nun is the book for you.  There is an underlying plot that runs through all the books, but you get a full story each time with the Nun of Your Business series.

The characters are endearing and grow on you with each story.  Cobbler Cove wouldn’t be the same without Trixie, Coop, and the gang.  The gang is yet again thrown into the middle of a murder case, but this one hits close to home for Trixie and has emotional ties.

Be prepared, once you start reading this story you will not want to put it down.  Plot twists and secrets will have you riveted until the end.  As a reader, this was a very satisfying story and complimentary to helping the series move forward.     
  

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Dakota Cassidy, Marty's Horrible, Terrible, Very Bad Day

Title:  Marty’s Horrible, Terrible, Very Bad Day (Accidentally Paranormal Series Book 17)  
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Werewolf, Demon, Grim Reaper, Phoenix, Vampire, Zombie, OOPs, Accidental Series 
Page Count:  183               
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services, LLC
Price:  $3.99
Publisher:  Self-Published 
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 


Blurb/Summary:

For Roxanne McNally, being a grim reaper has never been easy. Now she hates her job more than usual, because she’s been charged with reaping the soul of a legend—werewolf Marty Andrews Flaherty. Marty, together with her equally iconic friends Nina and Wanda, are Rocky’s idols. To say she’s an OOPs fangirl is putting it mildly. No way is she willing to deal with eons of hate Tweets for taking the soul of a paranormal superstar. Reaping supernaturals isn’t even her gig. She’s strictly human-only. No. There must be some mistake with the list, and she’ll get to the bottom of it…if she can just ignore the distracting reappearance of a certain hunky doctor in her life.

Hudson Kahlil—frequently known as Dr. Sexypants among besotted patients and staff—could swear he knows Roxanne from somewhere. As a phoenix who’s regularly reincarnated with no previous knowledge of his past lives, he’s not surprised he can’t place her. Though he’d love to reacquaint himself…and he may get the chance, since they’re both temporarily staying at Marty Flaherty’s home, protecting her while racing to find an unknown threat.

Nina, Wanda and their assorted framily may be able to save Marty’s immortal soul from an enemy who’s plan is still unclear…but they can’t save Rocky from the backlash when her secret past connection to Hudson is finally revealed.

Review:

Dakota Cassidy brings the series back to the originally three members of OOPs in Marty’s Horrible, Terrible, Very Bad Day.  It’s very apparent in the first chapter why Marty is having such a horrible day, but the reasoning, the how, and the why all unfold as the story goes on.  Never fear OOPs fans, we still get a mystery and the extended family still help other paranormals. 

Just when you thought that the Accidental world had all the paranormals it could handle, Dakota Cassidy throws in a grim reaper and phoenix.  Dakota Cassidy puts her own twist on these characters and readers will be falling in love with them in no time.  

Roxanne McNally, the grim reaper, and Hudson Kahlil, the phoenix, play an integral role in helping Nina and Wanda keep Marty’s Horrible, Terrible, Very Bad Day from being even worse.  Their story unfolds as the mystery is worked through.  They are a delight on the page and add to the OOPs “framily” nicely.

This is a wonderful addition to the series, and I look forward to seeing how Roxanne and Hudson might make appearances in later books.